1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hercules v ATI graphics cards

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by AlbertB, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AlbertB

AlbertB Thread Starter

Hi,

I've just come into an old Hercules 3D Prophet II Ultra 64MB (NVidia chips I believe) at a very good price, (the best price of all ;) ), but I have no experience of this card at all. I'm obviously wondering whether it would be a better card to use than my ATI Rage Fury Pro/Xpert 2000 32MB card. This assumes that Win2K drivers are available for the Hercules of course.

Does anyone have any info they can offer? :)

(edit: Win2k drivers just downloaded from Hercules site.)

2. active95

active95

Compare with the ATI Rage hands down it's a whole lot better. It's still a Geforce II card, using the reference design ( the last card made by Hercules before going bankcrupt was the TNT II , if i'm not mistaken) so don't expect to be able to run the lastest games on it ( well you can , but it will look ugly).
    Anyways if you want to take a look , here's a review for you http://www.activewin.com/reviews/hardware/graphics/hercules/3dprophetIIultra/index.shtml
    HTH

3. AlbertB

AlbertB Thread Starter

Thanks for the advice Active.

I have to admit I'm not a gamer at all, (unless you class my only dabble, F/A-18E Super Hornet, a game and I don't! :mad: ;) ), but I do a little intensive graphics work as part of my job and the idea of a better card did appeal. It was lying around at work and I was asked if I wanted it for free, so I naturally said yes and walked away a happy man.