1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Here We Go Again

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Robert the Bruce, May 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    My ZoneAlarm Anti-Virus is telling me 'Your Computer Is At Risk.' I've updated and that fixed things but only for a few seconds then it goes back to 'fix-now.' There seems to be an error in the Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware update. When I click 'fix-now' things are OK but only for a few seconds. What's wrong here ?
    Any time I try to enable it (turn it on), it keeps turning itself back off.
     
  2. Glaswegian

    Glaswegian Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,823
    Hi again

    Difficult to say but it sounds as though the updates are not being correctly installed by the programme. I would suggest you uninstall, reboot and then re-install.
     
  3. Glaswegian

    Glaswegian Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,823
  4. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    OK, I've done as you said and everything seems to be working.............I think. Don't quite know what that Revo is all about though. Can you tell me anything about those 4 virus(es) found ? I'll try to post a screenshot:
    Nearly forgot to mention. Whenever I was about to download a file ZoneAlarm would pop-up/appear and give me 3 options (Save, Run or Cancel) with regards to the file I was about to download. If I chose 'Save' ZoneAlarm would then scan the file there and then and tell me whether the file was safe or not. But since I've uninstalled and then re-installed ZoneAlarm this convenient security measure no longer appears. How do I get it back or re-activate/enable this nice wee security measure ?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Glaswegian

    Glaswegian Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,823
    Hi

    You need to click on the "4 virus(es) have been detected!" link - it should then show you details of what they are. Take a screenshot of that and post back.
     
  6. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    It is unclickable.
     
  7. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    Regarding my second point in post #4. Could that be something to do with the fact that I'm now using Google Chrome ?
    Also, ZoneAlarm is telling me 'Your Computer Is Secure' which is strange since it appears not to be.
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,226
  9. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    OK, I'll give it a go. So, I just run the scans and see what happens ?
     
  10. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    Robert---- There are some details you need when running online antivirus scans

    And that may not be needed just yet. When you have your Zone Alarm program open to that screen you posted an example of, which line are you trying to click on....the colored one on the left upper, or the black text over on the right?



    But, hang on a bit until Glaswegian can get back to you.

    We do have some details you need to follow when scanning......thanks!
     
  11. Robert the Bruce

    Robert the Bruce Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,137
    I've tried to click on both. Neither are clickable.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1054909