1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

here's a hard 1...

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by rtfgirl, Jul 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rtfgirl

    rtfgirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    what i'm trying to do... format my second drive as fat32 instead of NTFS!

    i have 2 seagate drives... the first is barracuda 7200.9 160Gb which has xp pro and is partitioned as C and D. i have another barracuda 40Gb drive that i did a LLF (used a different pc) and want to format that drive as E. Thus i'll have drives C, D and E.

    My problem: when i start the pc using a windows 98 startup disk, the ramdrive is set to E. this prevents me from formatting the 40Gb seagate drive as E. what i would like to do is not have the ramdrive as a variable but as a fixed ramdrive such as Z. these are the 2 batch files involved...


    autoexec.bat
    @ECHO OFF
    set EXPAND=YES
    SET DIRCMD=/O:N
    set LglDrv=27 * 26 Z 25 Y 24 X 23 W 22 V 21 U 20 T 19 S 18 R 17 Q 16 P 15
    set LglDrv=%LglDrv% O 14 N 13 M 12 L 11 K 10 J 9 I 8 H 7 G 6 F 5 E 4 D 3 C
    cls
    call setramd.bat %LglDrv%
    set temp=c:\
    set tmp=c:\
    path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%CDROM%:\
    copy command.com %RAMD%:\ > NUL
    set comspec=%RAMD%:\command.com
    copy extract.exe %RAMD%:\ > NUL
    copy readme.txt %RAMD%:\ > NUL

    :ERROR
    IF EXIST ebd.cab GOTO EXT
    echo Please insert Windows 98 Startup Disk 2
    echo.
    pause
    GOTO ERROR

    :EXT
    %RAMD%:\extract /y /e /l %RAMD%: ebd.cab > NUL
    echo The diagnostic tools were successfully loaded to drive %RAMD%.
    echo.

    IF "%config%"=="NOCD" GOTO QUIT
    IF "%config%"=="HELP" GOTO HELP
    LH %ramd%:\MSCDEX.EXE /D:mscd001 /L:%CDROM%
    echo.
    GOTO QUIT

    :HELP
    cls
    call help.bat
    echo Your computer will now restart and the startup menu will appear.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    echo.
    restart.com
    GOTO QUIT

    :QUIT
    echo To get help, type HELP and press ENTER.
    echo.
    rem clean up environment variables
    set CDROM=
    set LglDrv=



    setramd.bat
    @echo off
    set RAMD=
    set CDROM=

    echo.
    echo Preparing to start your computer.
    echo This may take a few minutes. Please wait...
    echo.

    a:\findramd

    if errorlevel 255 goto no_ramdrive

    if not errorlevel 3 goto no_ramdrive

    goto do_shift

    :loop
    if errorlevel %1 goto no_shift

    :do_shift
    set cdrom=%2
    shift
    shift
    if not %1*==* goto loop
    goto no_ramdrive

    :no_shift
    set ramd=%2

    if "%RAMD%"=="C" goto c_drive

    goto success

    :c_drive
    echo Windows 98 has detected that drive C does not contain a valid FAT or
    echo FAT32 partition. There are several possible causes.
    echo.
    echo 1. The drive may need to be partitioned. To create a partition on the drive,
    echo run FDISK from the MS-DOS command prompt.
    echo.
    echo 2. You may be using third-party disk-partitioning software. If you are using
    echo this type of software, remove the Emergency Boot Disk and restart your
    echo computer. Then, follow the on-screen instructions to start your computer from
    echo a floppy disk.
    echo .
    echo 3. Some viruses also cause your drive C to not register. You can use a virus
    echo scanning program to check your computer for viruses.
    echo.
    goto success

    :no_ramdrive
    echo The Windows 98 startup disk could not create a temporary drive for the
    echo diagnostic tools. This may be because this computer has less than the
    echo minimum required extended memory.
    echo.
    :success

    i think the set RAMD= and a:\findramd commands need to be modified somehow... or if someone see exactly what needs to be done, that would be great! thanks guys for helping me!!!



     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Why are you trying to do his with a 98 boot disk? Why aren't you doing it within windows?
     
  3. rtfgirl

    rtfgirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    well as i said... i don't want NTFS!!!! windows will not format ur drive in fat32!!!!!!!
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Since when. Disk management will be more than happy to format fat32.
     
  5. rtfgirl

    rtfgirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    HUH? well i tried!!! but all i saw was NTFS! ohhh i would love that if i could do it from windows! is there a special way i have to do it? ok well i think i have to say that, i jus did a LLF and i didn't assign a drive letter like C or D... does that matter?
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    Partition and format the drive in disk management.
     
  7. rtfgirl

    rtfgirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    ok well the partition part worked... it's now drive E but it still wants me 2 use NTFS! squashman thank u 4 helping me!!!! be patient! hahahaha
     
  8. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I was totally confusing the 137GB limit of XP with your issue.
    You can format the partition with your 98/ME boot disk from what I have read online.
    You may be able to format it from the cmd line as Leroy has said as well.
    There is also a 3rd party utility that allows you to do this as well.
    http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?fat32format.htm

    Microsoft thought it would be a great idea to cripple Windows to only format 32GB FAT32 partitions. Anything above that can only be formatted as NTFS with Disk Management. This was their way of forcing people to use NTFS.

    But then Microsoft came out with ExFAT. Which is the successor to FAT32. You could use this to format your disk as well if you wanted to.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/955704
     
  10. rtfgirl

    rtfgirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    yaaaaaaaaaay!!! squashman ur my hero!!!!!!! it worked!!!! thank you so much for your help! and it's always good to learn something new like this!!!! thank you!!!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1061134