1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Here's a poser about a Dlink wbr-1310 passwords

Discussion in 'Networking' started by The BOBS Fan, Jan 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    I've searched for this problem on the web, without result. Perhaps one of you folks has heard of it and can point me in the right direction.

    I have a Dlink wbr-1310 router, which worked fine under firmware 1.01, but I've had an interesting problem since I added the last firmware update (1.03 -- yes, I skipped 1.02, but I always assumed they were cumulative. Please slap me if I'm wrong).

    Ever since the upgrade, about 24 hours (or so) after I set up the specifics I need for passwords, port forwarding, time, etc., etc., it seems I can no longer log on to the router. This happens whether or not I change the default password configuration after reset, and it does it for both the admin and user. I'm having to reset the router daily to access it (I wouldn't normally access it very often, it just so happens I had a couple tweaks to make the day following the upgrade, and I've been dealing with this ever since), since the passwords don't work. I'm absolutely sure the username and password were correct.

    Any suggestions? (If you can point me to a website after a 5-second search, please don't flame me!)

    FYI, I don't believe I was hacked. I run XP home and pro machines on the network. My port forwarding is telnet and ssh to a linux server, and I also run a dedicated camera security system.

    More info if needed, I'm basically looking for a research site.

    Edit: I did find one place where someone mentioned the same problem, and that recycling the power took care of it. But that's still a pain to do whenever you want access (although the security is better - lol).

    TBF
     
  2. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Bump!!

    +1
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Did you try dropping back to 1.01? If that fixes it, I'd contact D-Link, since it would appear to be a firmware issue.
     
  4. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    I didn't know you could go back! There was no problem before. How would you do that if no longer is offered at their site? They say the 'lockup issue' was fixed in 1.03
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you contact their tech support, they'll have all the various firmware versions available.
     
  6. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Thanks! I have a request in to support. I'll let you know what happens.

    TBF
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    We're waiting. :)
     
  8. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064

    Well, this smells suspiciously like an automated reply :rolleyes: . Nevertheless, it seems to be fairly coherent.

    I'll try 1-4 this week (re: 3, most of the traffic is internal to the network).

    5 should not be a concern.

    I don't believe 6 is applicable, tho good info to have.

    7 works well, but ya gotta put all your info right back in. Hopefully the config.bin will take this time (I haven't been able to get in all weekend, and haven't been there to try this yet this week), because I can't let my network be down too long.

    I will post an update.

    TBF
     
  9. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    I tried everything listed in the support letter -- problem still exists. Any suggestions?
     
  10. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Well, last week the router froze up totally. Couldn't get it to work AT ALL! Hard reset didn't even work. Sigh. I guess it was just ready to die, I dunno.

    Got a new router now. Sigh.:rolleyes:
     
  11. LaZiO

    LaZiO

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I have the EXACT SAME problem with my wbr-1310.

    It has happened twice now (this being the 2nd time).

    I couldn't be bothered to reset the damn thing and set my options / ports allll over again (and getting a config.bin was out of the question at this point) so I figured I'd wait and wait until I REALLY needed to log in.... anyway I went out for the weekend and came back today to find that i was disconnected from the internet. My cable wasn't out, and my PC was ok... and the router LOOKED like it was ok... so i unplugged the power cord, waited a few seconds, and plugged it back in. Internet was back, I was happy...

    I then thought "hey, why dont I try loggin in NOW?" ... and it WORKED again...

    I am so confused and dissapointed with this product... I want to go back to 1.01 also, but am not able to find it... I also emailed D-Link tech support and never got a reply (They suck!!!)

    Good Luck with your new one !!!!!! Oh, what make/model did you go with this time??
     
  12. The BOBS Fan

    The BOBS Fan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,064
    Hey --

    They said the 'lockout issue' was solved with the last firmware update (1.03). Nope!!

    I bought the 2310 -- it has worked perfectly and has a lot of options the 1310 didn't.

    Good luck! [Just recycling the power (pull the plug for a few secs -- All the settings hold) worked for me ('til it died), but unfortunately I'm usually off-site when I want to get into it!]


    TBF
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536426