1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

heres a stumper- install wierdness

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by looneybob1, Jul 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. looneybob1

looneybob1 Thread Starter

ok, first, i have been using linux in one form or another for about 5 years now, i have tried alot of the distros, so not a true noob, but this one has me stumped. i have an older gateway solo 1150cl laptop which was running win me, since i hate windows :) , and have not used it in awhile, i decided to install suse 9.3 on it. install went according to plan till the re-boot after first disc, then nothing. so, i decided well, too old, so i tried f.c 3, same thing, install fine everything found correctly, but after grub loads, blank screen, so i tried f.c 1 same thing, next up was mandrake 9.0, successful worked really good, so i have 10.1, decided to try that, same as the others, blank screen after bootloader, to answer the obvious, yes i have all those distros and more. i also ran knoppix first to make sure all hardware would get seen.. lol, pulling what little hair i have left out on this one. have since put mandrake 9 back on it, runs great. that is the only distro i have that will run. any idea's?

2. saikee

saikee

Very simple.

While you have a working Mandrake take a look at its /etc/X11/xorg.conf and record the video driver it selected. It is just one line like
    Code:
    Driver "nv"
    or 
    Driver "ati"
    or
    Driver "vesa"