Hewlett Packard Software

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Royce

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
3
I received a new HP psc 950 all in one printer. The software does not load. When you run D:/setup an "open with" screen appears
stating click program you want to use to open 'setup.msi', if program is not on list click other. I don't know what program I should select to perform this request. Any help in how to load
this software would be appreciated. It loaded automatically on
my laptop and works well. But I need it to work on my tower
unit as well.

Any suggestions or help?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Did you receive a floppy disk w/ your printer... you have to install the software from it. Or is that the one you got?

A: drive is where a floppy is
 

Royce

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
3
I received a CD with the printer and it is suppose to run automatically. It did not and when I tried to run it manually.
What I stated is what happened. I have tried loading the software by using the add/remove programs in the control panel
also add/harware program and nothing has worked?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
282
What version of Windows is your computer running? After you put in the CD, go into My Computer, and double-click on the drive letter for your CD-ROM drive. What files and folders are listed?
 

Royce

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2001
Messages
3
All the files and folders in the C drive appear when I click the other
block as the first files appearing in the 'open with' window are a short sampling of the C drive files.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
Go to Windows Explorer and left click on your CD-ROM drive with the HP CD inserted. Click or double left click on the Setup.Exe file and you should be off and running.

Hp printers have different install routines for LPT parallel and USB. Make sure you use the correct side of the install instruction sheet. Basically you install like a normal driver at the “New hardware found” prompt for USB, and cancel out of that prompt and install as normal software for parallel.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top