1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hex-core vs quad-core?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bullet303, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bullet303

    bullet303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I am purchasing a processor for my first custom build PC and have decided to go with an AMD Phenom II. I know I would like at least a quad core but don't know if a hex-core would be worth it. I will be gaming, compiling, editing images, multi-tasking, playing movies, etc.

    For these tasks I want to get the most bang for my buck. Tell me what you think.

    AMD Phenom II X4

    Model:
    975--3.6ghz
    970--3.5ghz
    965--3.4ghz
    955--3.2ghz
    925--2.8ghz
    840--3.2ghz

    AMD Phenom II X6

    Model:
    1100--3.3ghz
    1090--3.2ghz
    1075--3.0ghz
    1065--2.9ghz
    1055--2.8ghz
    1045--2.7ghz
     
  2. satanicguardian

    satanicguardian

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    1055t is a great alrounder at a great price and easy to get massive overclocks on, i would go with that :)
     
  3. bullet303

    bullet303 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I am liking the 6 core mainly because of that power saving feature where it only uses 3 cores until need be, that is if I understood them correctly. Thanks for input
     
  4. satanicguardian

    satanicguardian

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Yes thats the turbo core techonlogy if i remember correctly, i have a 1055t myself but have disabled it as it hinders overclocking, but yeah 1055t is best value for money with great performance, flexibility and easy to oc
     
  5. satanicguardian

    satanicguardian

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    396
    Turbo core, again if i remeber correctly, uses 3 cores and accelerates their clock speed, ie 1055t stock 2.8ghz, when turbo core is active it would take 3 cores and put them up to around 3.3ghz
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. m1k3y123
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,505
  2. BruinBeer
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,045
  3. me10
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    565
  4. trixterr
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,364
  5. Bigfysh
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    605
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976708