Hi, I'm a not so tech savvy Mom who needs a recommendation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mariaswan1209

I don't even know if I'm in the correct forum LOL..like I said I'm a not so tech savvy Mom who needs a recommendation for a laptop for my 10 yr old son. He got a GoPro camera for Christmas from his Dad....we live in different states so I'm unsure of which model. He has asked me for a laptop for his birthday to specifically use with the camera. Which model/brand is best for him and also well priced for this single Mom?
Thanks!

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
I assume all he's wanting it for is for photo editing and maybe internet and fb?
If wanting to game I suggest a desktop.

If the above is correct, I would recommend atleast an i3 CPU about 4-6gb ram and about a 500gb HDD.

Where would you like to purchase? Online or.local?

mariaswan1209

Yes, he wants a laptop. This way he can travel with it and share it with my other son. There are sooo many options out there. I am buying it online and shipping it directly to him. I live in Fl and he's in RI so this is what I always do for gift giving. I just want to make a good choice, have something he can easily use at a good price. He's totally more tech savvy than I LOL...he'got his own YouTube channel and does a lot of gaming too.

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Ok do you know what kind of gaming? I assume it's MMOFPS or MMORPG? (Ask him)

Maybe you could provide a few game titles for us here so we have an idea on the amount of processing power needed.

The only reason I ask is because a gaming laptop can be quite pricey. (And you haven't provided a budget price range yet :) )

mariaswan1209