1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hi, im about to replace the ram in my computer. and i need help..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Unwritten, Feb 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    The ram parts inside my computer won't come out, i don't want to tug too hard on them that ill break my computer, am i suppose to apply pressure?
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,119
    If it is the system in your sig, then it should have some plastic clips or latches to release. Here is a picture of what they look like.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ram.jpg
      ram.jpg
      File size:
      91.2 KB
      Views:
      118
  3. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I recently bought 2gb of ram for my windows vista and i already had only 1gb and it wont turn on now that i replaced it :/ help!
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,119
    OK, do not start multiple threads for the same problem. I will merge your other thread into this one for you.
     
  5. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Are they properly seated? Did you put the RAM in the right direction (the notch lines up with the card)?

    Also, what was the 1GB stick and what is the new 2GB stick?
     
  6. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Its hard to see inside my computer, but im pretty sure they are. i heard the snap.
    and what do you mean? the 1gb were two 512 modules i believe.
    and the 2gb were just a 2gb kit.
    my desktop can only take up to 2gb.
     
  7. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Technically, that system can take 4GB.. but due to the way it handles it, only 3.25GB is usable.. so 3GB max.

    Do you have them aligned correctly? I bumped into this when only one side clicked, but the other didn't. I just had to double-check it and reseat them.
     
  8. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Maybe i side clicked it, but whenever i try to get both sides to click it won't work out. it acts like its bigger then the old ram but they're the same size..
    im not sure if i should try again because everytime i tryed to boot up my pc with the ram it would make this loud beeping noise.

    and SIW tells me that 2gb is the maximum for my pc. :p
     
  9. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    The mainboard is telling me different. It can handle up to 2GB *PER* stick.

    Are you using DDR2 or DDR3 RAM?

    Also, that system can handle a more powerful processor (Core 2 Duo).
     
  10. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  11. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    What speed are the new sticks rated at?
     
  12. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
  13. Simba7

    Simba7

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    You paid.. $38.. for that?

    Anyway.. The speeds are correct. Try one stick at a time.
     
  14. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,343
    take the memory out......take a close look and make sure u are installing them in the correct way
    the clips on each side will click when u have them in properly
     
  15. Unwritten

    Unwritten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Actually i payed 24... And thanks ill try it out

    So it is the right ram right? Im just placing it wrong ?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090231

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice