Hibernate

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
Not really an XP matter, but I do use Windows XP Home with SP3.

I have been using Standby for a long time now for lengthy shutdowns. I do not reboot for several days.

I have been getting memory low alerts quite often and when these happen, I do reboot.

As I understand it, Standby uses RAM to store the data and as I only have 1 GB - 960 RAM, it is not a great deal of memory to use for storage.

I have switched to Hibernate which does not use RAM, but stores the data on my hard disc. I have stacks of free space on that.

Do you think that Standby was my trouble with low memory alerts and now with Hibernate I will be free of this problem ?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,155
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., M61PME-S2P, x.x,
According to your specs, your computer has a Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P motherboard.

It has 2 slots and supports up to 8 GB of RAM.

It's currently running Windows XP Home Edition SP3 with only 1 GB of RAM, so you should seriously consider adding another 1 GB or increasing it to 4 GB.

We don't know what programs you have installed in your computer and how many running processes it has, so that may be contributing to the "memory low" messages.

Regardless of what's causing the message, you need to add more RAM because computing functions and programs and websites have gotten more and more memory-hungry over the years.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
According to your specs, your computer has a Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P motherboard.

It has 2 slots and supports up to 8 GB of RAM.

It's currently running Windows XP Home Edition SP3 with only 1 GB of RAM, so you should seriously consider adding another 1 GB or increasing it to 4 GB.

We don't know what programs you have installed in your computer and how many running processes it has, so that may be contributing to the "memory low" messages.

Regardless of what's causing the message, you need to add more RAM because computing functions and programs and websites have gotten more and more memory-hungry over the years.

--------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for posting. I do need more RAM and will consider increasing it.

In the meantime, will Hibernate ease the problem by saving to disc rather than RAM ?
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
In view of this

I do not reboot for several days.
although standby was never meant for such a period of time, I would examine your task schedule.
I would also check what is open when you place it in standby and try with the minimum

Leaving your browser open - especially if it is Firefox - certainly has a reputation for ram use


However the real problem has been covered by my colleague
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,171
what is your swapfile set at?

To the best of my knowledge, hibernate will use less RAM than standby. That said, XP was known to needing reboots every week or so. Hence the question on the swapfile.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,155
I've never used the hibernate/standby function in Windows XP, and I always allow it manage the swapfile, so I'll leave it to you guys to address those issues.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
what is your swapfile set at?

To the best of my knowledge, hibernate will use less RAM than standby. That said, XP was known to needing reboots every week or so. Hence the question on the swapfile.
Hibernate does not use RAM at all. Storage is to disc.

I let Windows control my Pagefile and memory needs. At present the recommended level is 1438 MB and it is currently set at 2878 MB.

As Standby does not shut the PC down, but has it trickle power, I suspect that when the data is stored on RAM the system senses that VM is excessive and triggers an alert that memory is low and Windows is increasing it., even when on Standby. Then when I come out of Standby, the alert becomes visual on screen. It happens just when I have come out of Standby, not every time but often enough to become a pain. When on Standby the system is very much alive although on low power.

I also suspect that because by then the data has gone back to disc, the alert is actually meaningless. I just hit the "X" and get rid of it. Nothing untowards ever happens with operations afterwards.

But why are we talking of Pagefile, which is a memory parameter ? Hibernate does not use VM, although it does take much longer to come out of, as it does in fact shut the system down.





.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,406
Do you think that Standby was my trouble with low memory alerts and now with Hibernate I will be free of this problem ?
No.

Standby maintains power to the memory and shuts off pretty much everything else. If power is lost you will lose any data that exists only in memory.

Hibernate saves memory to the hard drive and then shuts off power as in shut down. If power is lost it's no big deal because memory is restored from the hard drive when the PC is awakened.
 

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
I strongly suspect that as AVG 2015 updating is a scheduled task, then when on Standby, AVG wakes the computer up from its slumbers and actually updates. Then it goes back to sleep.

The task is scheduled for around 23.00, so I never see it, but when I do come out of Standby, I often find that AVG has been updated. It may be possible to do this for a scheduled task even on low power, but it is not possible on Hibernate.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
With AVG 2015 it is just never going to work well with 1Gb ram
That said I am not a fan of AVG
 

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
With AVG 2015 it is just never going to work well with 1Gb ram
That said I am not a fan of AVG
I know my RAM is not really enough, but generally it works well and I have no trouble whatsoever and certainly not with AVG. AVG has given me an impeccable trouble-free service for about 10 years now. I could ask no more from any AV program.

As I am now using Hibernate, my memory will not be taxed heavily with Standby data storage. My PC is set to clear Pagefile on shutdown and Hibernate does shutdown the PC.

All I was asking is "will using Hibernate cure the memory storage problem caused by Standby ?". The answer should be YES, but nobody has yet said it. I have no immediate concerns about low RAM. 1 GB seems to handle my activity very well.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
will using Hibernate cure the memory storage problem caused by Standby
Answer YES more than likely - the test of course is to try it

my memory will not be taxed heavily with Standby data storage
Agreed -- data is written to the hiberfil file not to ram

I have been getting memory low alerts quite often and when these happen, I do reboot.
does not actually refer to physical ram - refers to the page file

IMHO the test of the cause for the original posted problem was as I said reduce the running processes to minimum before placing it in standby

and also IMHO
have been using Standby for a long time now for lengthy shutdowns. I do not reboot for several days.
you were using standby for a purpose for which it was never designed.


and finally
have no trouble whatsoever and certainly not with AVG. AVG has given me an impeccable trouble-free service for about 10 years now. I could ask no more from any AV program.
I do not doubt it - but not of course AVG2015



Good luck with it
 

airborne17

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 19, 2012
Messages
249
Answer YES more than likely - the test of course is to try it
and finally
I do not doubt it - but not of course AVG2015
Good luck with it
Thank you for those constructive comments.

Your only adverse remark is about AVG 2015. We must agree to disagree. IMO AVG 2015 is a superb program which matches or exceeds any other AV program available today - free or paid for. I do not need any luck with AVG, their expertise is quite adequate.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top