Hibernation mode?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zanendithas

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
9
What my computer has been doing for about a day now is when its on, about every 2 seconds - 30 minutes it goes into a hibernation mode sort of thing. The moniter goes off, it says (auto detect entering power save) then the power button turns orange. But my computer is still running. Any idea how to stop this from happening or how to get out of hibernation mode?


I'm also sure its not my computer fan speeds because they are all below 30, system is 38c
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,473
Go into the Control Panel and then into Power Options.

Change the power scheme to "Always On" and change all the other settings to "Never".

Go into the Hibernate tab and disable it.

Click Apply - OK, then restart your computer.

Your computer and monitor will stay on continuously from now on - until you're ready to shut down normally.

After you shut off your computer normally(via the Start menu), the monitor will go black and the light will turn amber. If you leave it in this sleep mode, it'll automatically start up when you start your computer.

If you prefer to completely shut off both your computer and your monitor, just press the monitor power button after you shut off your computer.

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Zanendithas

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
9
Now it shuts off more periodically, and when i turn it back on, nothing happends or it turns on for a split second, then shuts off again.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,473
It sounds like a hardware issue to me.

Let's see if someone jumps in that can assist you.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Zanendithas

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
9
Way ahead of yea, talked to a guy yesterday, he should be here any minute now, i'll let yea know if that's the problem (thanks for the help thus far)
 

Zanendithas

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
9
Sorry for the slow reply, I've been busy, but it seems that as the problem, thanks Flavallee :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top