1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hiding software interface in autostart

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by xnavigator, Jul 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xnavigator

    xnavigator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    I need to write a string in

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    to run a software but with the interface hided..

    I have tested "start /b file.exe" but it doesn't work..

    any solutions?

    thanks
     
  2. xnavigator

    xnavigator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  4. xnavigator

    xnavigator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    mmmm..

    I don't have admin access to use any2service..
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Why are you editing the registry then.
     
  6. xnavigator

    xnavigator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    I have develoed an application that insert a string to autostart in the registry..
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You want to make a program run at startup without displaying an interface which I take to mean that you don't want the user to know it's running, and you're not an administrator on this computer.

    Your motives are a bit suspicious. Unless you can explain exactly what you're trying to do and convince us that this is on the up-and-up, I'm going to request this thread be closed.
     
  8. xnavigator

    xnavigator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    This software count the time that a pc is online ( use a internet connection )... and is show in the tray bar and so I want to hide the window..
     
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/486502

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice