High CPU Usage

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

akirschbaum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
4
So last week, I went to play a facebook game that I've played for a while. It suddenly went SUPER slow. I restarted the computer, and the internet seemed fine. So I went to play a different game (Diablo 3) and the same thing happened. I did some searching online and found that my CPU Usage could be the problem. So I opened my task manager up and found that while playing games, my CPU Usage spikes up between 75 and 100%. I don't know which processes/services to stop, so I didn't mess around with that. I did my AVG virus scan and nothing was found, so I ran CCleaner just to free up space, nothing significant. I just ran SUPERantispyware today and the report said it found a trojan (zoomex.exe), which I don't remember downloading. So I removed it, but the computer is STILL super slow only when playing games. My knowledge is VERY limited, so could someone suggest my next steps?

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 4022 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce G105M, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 459473 MB, Free - 343150 MB; D: Total - 17161 MB, Free - 2785 MB; E: Total - 99 MB, Free - 95 MB;
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 365C
Antivirus: AVG Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,448
Your Pc needs to be updated to Service Pack 1.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976932
------
Once you have updated to SP1 and installed all needed updates.
Download Security Check by screen317
http://screen317.spywareinfoforum.org/
Save it to your Desktop.

Right click and select "Run as Administrator"
A command Prompt window will open.
Let it scan the Pc - press any key when asked.
It should now open in Notepad - and will save a log called checkup.txt.
Post the result of the scan here.
------
Download MalwareBytes to your desktop.
Download the Free version.
MalwareBytes

Once downloaded to your desktop.
Close all open browser windows.

MalwareBytes
Click on the Install icon - allow it to update during the install process.
Start Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
Click on Scanner > then quick scan > then Scan.
Any infections or problems will be highlighted in red.
After the scan is finished - Click - Show Results.
Check that all entries are selected.
Click - Remove Selected.
You may be prompted to restart to finish the removal process.
If Yes - restart your Pc.

Start Malwarebytes again.
Click on the Logs Tab.
Highlight the scan log entry.
Click - Open.
The scan log will appear in Notepad.
Copy and paste it in your next post.
 

akirschbaum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
4
Sorry I took so long. Busy evening. I have used malwarebytes before, ran it last week when my computer first started doing this. I should have also included that my computer did this two days last week, then went back to normal and then today, it hit again.

Results of screen317's Security Check version 0.99.56
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 (UAC is enabled)
Internet Explorer 8 Out of date!
``````````````Antivirus/Firewall Check:``````````````
Windows Firewall Enabled!
AVG Internet Security
Antivirus up to date!
`````````Anti-malware/Other Utilities Check:`````````
Java(TM) 6 Update 37
Java version out of Date!
Adobe Flash Player 11.5.502.135
Adobe Reader 9 Adobe Reader out of Date!
Mozilla Firefox (17.0.1)
````````Process Check: objlist.exe by Laurent````````
AVG avgwdsvc.exe
AVG avgtray.exe
AVG avgemc.exe
`````````````````System Health check`````````````````
Total Fragmentation on Drive C: 1%
````````````````````End of Log``````````````````````

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.70.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: v2013.01.07.11

Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 8.0.7601.17514
Aleda :: ALEDA-PC [administrator]

1/7/2013 7:17:13 PM
mbam-log-2013-01-07 (19-17-13).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Scan options disabled: P2P
Objects scanned: 230995
Time elapsed: 4 minute(s), 13 second(s)

Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Files Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

(end)
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,448
Playing games are both graphic [video] and ram intensive - it uses a lot of both and some games use even more
Does playing the game cause the Pc to freeze, stop and you are unable to play them?
The task manager may be showing high CPU - it may settle down but will raise and fall during the game.
What is the make and model number of your Pc?

Java version out of Date!
http://www.java.com/en/
Download the latest version of the above
Adobe Reader 9 Adobe Reader out of Date!
http://get.adobe.com/reader/
At the above website - untick the Free McAfee scan before downloading Adobe.
 

akirschbaum

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
4
HP Pavilion dv7 (Laptop) bought brand new in 2010.
The strange thing is that I'm very careful with what I put on my computer. I'm not a huge gamer. I play my facebook games and have been playing Diablo 3 for a year now and this is the first time the computer has lagged like this. It didn't freeze or crash because I would quickly exit the games, but it made it so it would be pointless to play considering it would take forever just to move the mouse. Once the CPU usage spiked, it wouldn't stop. I waited ten minutes, just to see if it would reduce, but it didn't until after I closed out the game. After installing Service Pack 1, this all stopped. However, I wonder if it will occur in another week as it stopped for a week without me doing anything. I can deal with a couple days of not playing my games. I just want to know if something is seriously wrong with my computer.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,448
I just ran SUPERantispyware today and the report said it found a trojan (zoomex.exe), which I don't remember downloading
Start SuperAntiSpyware again.
Click View Scan Logs.
Highlight the scan log entry.
Click - View Selected Log.
The scan log will appear in Notepad.
Copy and paste in your next post.
------
Download Mini Tool Box

Download to your desktop.
Double Click on the Mini Toolbox icon.
Or Right click and select "Run as Administrator"
Put a Tick in List Installed Programs
Leave the Tick in Only Problems - under List Devices

Click Go and let it scan your Pc.
It will then open in Notepad - copy and paste the log file here.

Here is the support website for HP Pavilion dv7.
HP® Official Store
http://www.shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-office/-/search-SimpleOfferSearch?SearchTerm=dv7t
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top