1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

high cpu usage

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Invoice123, Apr 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Invoice123

    Invoice123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    i have a windows 8 hewlittpackard, it keeps saying High CPU usage, I noticed the computer is running a lot slower is there a way to solve this problem
     
  2. Invoice123

    Invoice123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Norton, it came with Xfinity (comcast),
     
  3. Invoice123

    Invoice123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Which antivirus would you suggest, are any of them free? How about AVG?
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    Invoice123:

    What's the model name and complete model number of that Hewlett Packard(HP) computer?

    What's the part/product number(P/N) on it?

    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Do the following in that computer:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file to the desktop.

    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.

    Information about your computer will appear.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    Ignore this advice for now until we can address the CPU usage and slowness issue.

    If you decide to get rid of Norton later, it needs to be done in 2 stages so there's no leftover "debris" from it.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Invoice123

    Invoice123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD E1-1500 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 20 Model 2 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3659 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics, 384 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 459206 MB, Free - 404327 MB; D: Total - 15871 MB, Free - 1924 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 2B01
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    You haven't answered these 2 questions in the first part of post #6.

    I'm guessing you have a HP 110-014 or similar model desktop, but we need to confirm that.

    You should add another 4 GB of RAM to it.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go here, then click the large blue "Download Now @ Bleeping Computer" button to download and save AdwCleaner.exe to your desktop.

    Close all open windows first, then double-click AdwCleaner.exe to load its main window.

    Click the "Scan" button, then allow the scanning process to finish.
    (Note: Several seconds may pass before the scanning process starts, so be patient.)

    Click the "Logfile" button.

    When the log appears, save it.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE log here.

    Note: After you submit the log, close AdwCleaner. When the warning appears, click "Yes".

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Invoice123

    Invoice123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    This is what comes up: This app can't run on this pc, to find a version for your pc check with the software publisher Also the model # is 110-014
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
    AdwCleaner does run in Windows 8 64-bit, so I don't know why you're having a problem with it.

    Thanks for confirming you do have a HP 110-014 desktop.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - high usage
  1. Akhil777
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    741
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146264

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice