1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

High Definition Audio cannot be installed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by unholy031, Dec 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    I cannot seem to install any audio driver on my PC. Upon startup, a dialog box saying that the driver for the Audio Device on High Definition Audio is not configured. I tried installing it from Realtek, but nothing happens. Also, I tried installing it from my Nvidia chipset driver, but also nothing happened. What can I do?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
    First we'll need to the make & model of the computer, or the make and model of the motherboard as well as the version of Windows including if its 32-bit or 64-bit.
     
  3. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Intel Core 2 Duo, motherboard is Nvidia GeForce 7050/ Nvidia nForce 610i . OS is Windows XP Professional 32 bit.
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Those are the chipset numbers, but we really need the motherboard manufacturer and part number; or if it is Dell or HP or Gateway (etc), the manugacturer and model.

    If you are running XP ServicePack 3, many HD drivers that were available before SP3 will not install. If this is the case there is a registry edit to trick the driver installer into thinking you have SP2. See this article for instructions: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f23/in-reference-to-xp-sp3-fix-361897.html
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
  6. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    So, what should I do? I have XP SP3 running. I'll try your path Frank4d
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
    You still need to post the exact model of the motherboard or system.
     
  8. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Manufacturer is PCCHIPS, mdoel P55G version 1.0 .
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
  10. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Do I still need to tweak my CDS registry key?
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
    No, you don't need to tweak the registry, you juts need to install the correct VIA audio drivers rather then the incorrect Realtek drivers.
     
  12. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Agreed. I have only seen the compatibility issue with Realtek HD audio drivers that are older than XP SP3; should not be a problem since you have VIA audio.
     
  13. unholy031

    unholy031 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks. :D Problem solved.
     
  14. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,579
    Good to hear (y)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032503