1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

High ping and slow speeds at night

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Dworvin, Nov 11, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Dworvin

    Dworvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    For past month I've been getting really high ping at night starting around 6pm cst, from couple hundred to thousands, and speeds slow down from 20mbs down/4mbs up to kbs for both. I've tried everything, even tried ethernet direct connect to two modems, both same brand. My isp provider doesnt even know whats going on, says lines are fine, they showed ping tests of my neighbors and they fine, it's only me. I'm lost at what to do. We get no ping spikes any other time and nothing we do at night changes, even with a ethernet to modem and running 1 application still gets high ping and low speeds.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    Hello and welcome! I apologise for the delay of my post.

    If you are seeing it at a certain time of day then more than likely the internet service is being saturated by other users that are on the same line/switch as you. Take it from someone that worked in an internet service provider that oversold their service and had to put in new equipment to handle the load :eek:

    Who is your provider?

    Here is what you can do as an end-user; document the following so you can send it to your ISP so they have to do something.

    When at all possible, do this direct connected to the modem. What modem do you have?

    When it's working fine:

    Complete 3 speed tests from 3 different sources: www.speedtest.net, www.dslreports.com/speedtest, www.speedof.me, and www.testmy.net. Notate the speed for both upload/upstream and download/downstream, as well as ping if it shows. If your provider has a speed test, include that with these 3.

    Next, go to Command Prompt, then type ping google.com -n 100 > ping1.txt & ping1.txt and press enter.
    This will show nothing happening, but what this command does is inputting the data into the text file, then it will display the text file. This should take about a minute.

    Next, in Command Prompt, type tracert google.com > trace1.txt & trace1.txt and press enter. Again, this will not show you the details until it completes the information. This shouldn't take more than 30 seconds.

    Once it hits 6PM CST and you start to see the issue, complete the same tasks but with a slight modification... the commands you need to do will be:

    ping google.com -n 100 >> ping1.txt & ping1.txt
    tracert google.com >> trace1.txt & trace1.txt

    The two >> means that it will add onto the created file so we have one file with both 'good' and 'bad' results per each command.

    Hopefully all the information should look different. Please provide the information so I can review it.

    Also don't forget to asks friends/family/neighbours to see if they are experiencing the same issue (providing they are on the same internet service and they are somewhat close to you.


    Internet providers do have information about the signals to you, to the area, etc as well as usage... it will depend on the company that would actively help you with that information straight away.
     
  3. Dworvin

    Dworvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5

    Internet is from Heartland Cable in Illinois

    Modem Cisco model# DPC3010

    Speeds good time
    17.61mbs/4.21mbs. 22ms
    22.84mbs/3.97mbs
    23.79mbs/3.77mbs

    Bad time
    1mbs/2.13mbs. Ping 69. Jitter 250
    4.54mbs/1.56mbs
    7.30mbs/0.0

    Just noticed but our modems ds light is now Amber and I'm sure it used to be green.
    I've seen much worse pings and tracert but here ones I've saved like you asked.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    According to the manual for the modem, there are no different colours for the DS light. Just on, off, or blinking... though I haven't seen a docsis 3.0 modem that didn't have different colours... so i digged a little and found that if the light is yellow, then the modem is not completing the channel bonding which will cause slowness too. Is this yellow all the time?

    ping - wow. That is bad in indeed. Most likely because of what's in the tracert.

    3 150 ms 139 ms 138 ms 10.10.76.13
    4 687 ms 201 ms 95 ms 7-1-25.ear3.Chicago2.Level3.net [4.35.108.45]
    5 174 ms 158 ms 155 ms 72.14.203.208

    I know Hop #1 has over 100ms ping times (that is the gateway before your modem) but #4 I believe is the culprit... which is the backbone that your provider is connecting to. As a user, you can;'t do anything... the ISP has to fix that with Level3.

    I would seriously doubt no one else is complaining if this is the case.

    Are you going direct to the modem or do you have a router? If you have a router, you would want to do this again when connected to the modem directly, just to eliminate them (isp) trying to blame the router. If you have a second computer, I would also suggest doing this as well. But at this point, I see that the connection from ISP to Level3 being the problem.

    If you have friends/neighbours that are on the same ISP, see if they have the same issue and if so, do the same commands... other than that, the ISP needs to get the network (NOC) team to look into this.
     
  5. Dworvin

    Dworvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I do have a router but I did the testing direct to the modem, I'll do it again with different computer toward this weekend.
     
  6. Dworvin

    Dworvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Oh and modem lights are fixed. Sure they always was green, idk when they turned amber.
     
  7. Dworvin

    Dworvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Now getting spikes during morning :( This was done over Wi-Fi, can't get chance to connect to modem.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Try going into your router settings and changing the channel.See if that makes a difference.
    Are you the only one using this router or are there multiple users?
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,122
    First Name:
    James
    The issue is inbetween the ISP and Level3.

    The troubleshooting I try to provide is to ensure that the ISP can't say it's the OPs equipment. The trace routes show that the bottleneck is between the 10.10.x.y (ISP) and Level 3.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235564

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice