High Speed Internet modem cable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nelliev8

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
50
I have a Belkin wireless modem/router with 3 computers attached. I have ADSL connection with supposedly 1500mbps speed but I am only getting between 900 to 1200 on a good day I have the ordinary telstra phone cable from the output to my modem at present and wondered if I would be wasting my money getting the Belkin High Speed Internet Modem Cable or similar which from their blurb says it speeds up internet bla bla!
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
You want a 24 gauge solid conductor twisted pair wire. If you already have modular connectors and a crimping tool you can make your own. Otherwise $15 for a Belkin cable would be ok.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Purchase a DSL splitter and install it at the telco service entrance. Run a direct line from the DSL port on the splitter directly to the DSL modem. Connect all of the other phone instruments to the telephone output of the DSL splitter. All of the DSL analog side wiring should be CAT3 or better twisted pair from the telco service entrance to the DSL/ADSL modem. You can use one of the twisted pairs in CAT5 cable if you have that on hand.

This is as good as it gets for DSL installations, and will usually solve in-house wiring issues.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
I had to do this when I had DSL due to the connection constantly dropping. My ISP had the phone company install it at no charge.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
It's the best solution to DSL interior wiring. Many times, multiple filters and spaghetti wiring throughout the house screw up DSL performance. :)
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
And with with the external DSL splitter installed as you suggested, filters on non-DSL modem devices are no longer necessary. The splitter takes care of it.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Correct, the splitter is the only "filter" required for the whole installation. In addition, the direct shot of quality cable to the DSL modem eliminates all the issues of multi-drop phone wiring. I sometimes marvel that DSL works at all in some of the installations I've seen. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top