High temps with Core 2 duo

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AndyTDI

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
38
Hi All

I have just built a new pc with the following spec.

Asus P5B Motherboard
E6420 Core2Duo 2.13 (Stock HSAF)
2x512 Corsair XMS2 DDR2 PC5300
Saphire x1650pro Ultimate
samsung 80gig SATA II HDD
2x120mm case fans 1 front 1 Back
Edit : Forgot to say I used A/S 5 on the HSAF not the standard pads. I have checked and re seated this.Edit

There is no overclock at the moment so all is at stock. If I run a test with TAT and have speed fan running also after a couple of mins the temps are as follows.

Speedfan v4.32

System 42C
CPU: 62C
AUX: 122C What the heck is this measuring !!
HD0: 41C
Core 0: 47C
Core 1: 47C


These temps are about the same in Asus Probe II and with the Core0 and Core1 in TAT.

I tried a small overclock before only to 280mhz fsb and the CPU temp went to 97C:eek: but that can not be right can it ?

The info I have read says the Core0 and Core1 temps should be higher than the CPU temp Info from here

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Core-Duo-Temperature-Guide-ftopict221745.html

Any Ideas what is going on with these temps And what the heck is running at 122C :confused:


Any help would be appreciated.


Thanks

Andy
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
128
Did you look in the BIOS to see what that said for temps? Many of these temp monitoring applications report wrong temps on certain boards.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
13
As someone sed above temps are often faulty if it did run at that heat the system would shut down automaticly... check if fan is placed properly ... If none of these are correct go to the shop and get a refund :)
 
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
652
or have you got the paste between your CPU and HSF?
i had the exact same problem, just my CPU (intel Pentium D 3.2Ghz 935) was running a normal temp of 70 degrees!!!!
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
From your problem description, I suspect that you have an airgap between the heatsink and the processor heatspreader.

You will need to clean the heatsink and processor with high-purity isopropyl or denatured alcohol and apply new thermal compound.

Here are instructions from the Artic Silver site as to how the thermal compound should be installed. Whether you use Artic Silver or another brand of thermal compound the procedure would be the same.

http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruct/as5/ins_as5_intel_dual_wcap.pdf

When you start to re-install the cooler, set the heatsink on the processor heatspreader and GENTLY turn the cooler assembly left and right a couple of times (Just a couple of degrees each way).. Turn the locking pin assemblies clockwise as far as they will go by hand, and re-align the locking pins with the holes in the motherboard. Push down HARD on 2 pins at a time diagonal from each other, until all 4 pins are fully down and locked.

After the cooler is re-seated, re-start the machine and check the temperatures.

On the machines I build, I can normally expect a temperature with a C2D processor of approximately 38-42c at idle with the Intel stock cooler and thermal pad in a thermally advantaged case.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Yep make sure that the hsf is securely seated on all 4 pins after regreasing cpu.
 

AndyTDI

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
38
Thanks for the info guys.

I have re seated the HSAF a few times this morning, following the instructions posted did not give me good temps so I removed again and spread a very thin layer totaly evenly over the surface of the cpu then put the heatsink on. This now gives me temps of about 47 60 127 50 52 52

System 47C
CPU 60C
AUX 127C
HDD 50C
Core 0 52C
Core 1 52C

This is with an overclock just to test it with TAT. FSB 313x8 2.5gig. At stock speed the temps are about 1 deg C better.

Anyone know what the AUX temp is at 127deg C I presume this is a false reading as I don't think anything should be running at 127C.

Thanks for the info.

Andy
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
I suggest that you take the processor back to all the stock settings until you get a better handle on the accuracy of the displayed temperatures. The thermal spec for the E6420 is 60.1c and ThermalTrip occurs at approximately 80c.

What are the temperatures you get from BIOS? What is your vCORE voltage in BIOS?
What is your BIOS version?
 

AndyTDI

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
38
Hi

All is at stock now.

Temps in the Bios are 46C CPU. 32C system.
The Vcore is fixed at 1.20v
The Bios Version is 1501 dated 26/06/2007

at the moment using the Asus probe II just sat on the internet I have a CPU temp of 42C the Motherboard temp of 31C all the fans are at full speed CPU and two 120mm.

I have attached a screen grab with TAT running so you can see the temps. Its the AUX one that bothers me.


Another thing is as I am typing this I can see one or two horizontal lines flashing across the screen every 5 to 10 seconds ???

Any further info.

Thanks

Andy
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
18
Its actually not that bad, if you know how to tell TM1 and TM2 apart ;)

System 47C
CPU 60C
AUX 127C
HDD 50C
Core 0 52C
Core 1 52C

CPU is the sensor on the die, the TM1 sensor, while Core 0 and 1 is the TM2 sensors, or DTS as they are named in TAT. TM2 temps are more accurate, and have a slowdown treshold of 75C, and your CPU's TM2 is nowhere near that, so you're completely fine. If TM2 ever comes close to 70, then you worry, but not now.

TM2 temps usually differ from TM1 temps in about 15 degrees C, so if TM2 temps are showing say 65C, chances are, that TM1 could be showing 50-ish degrees, depending on setup.

Also, this is quite obvious, but just a reminder:

TM1 temps of 60C does not automatically mean very high TM2 temps! Check TM2 temps before judging your CPU's state, as they are more accurate when you think you're on thin ice.

As I said: You're fine, until TM2 hits 70C or more.

'War

EDIT:

Also, judging by your CPU and Core readings, you should try CoreTemp, which also reads TM2 temps, and see if you get different readings. I smell bogus readings, since Core is actually lower than CPU, which makes no sense whatsoever.
 

AndyTDI

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
38
WarZard said:
Also, judging by your CPU and Core readings, you should try CoreTemp, which also reads TM2 temps, and see if you get different readings. I smell bogus readings, since Core is actually lower than CPU, which makes no sense whatsoever.

This has been puzzling me also but Asus probe and Speedfan read the CPU temp higher than the Core0 and core 1 temps Eg at the moment

Asus Probe II
CPU 41c

Speed fan
CPU 41c

Core0 31
Coer1 32

Core Temp0.95
Core0 30c
Core1 31c

I.TAT
Core0 32
Core1 32

I thought the Core0/1 temps should be higher than the CPU temp:confused:

Any Ideas
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
18
I thought the Core0/1 temps should be higher than the CPU temp

They should. I've seen quite a few cases like these, I don't know why it does this but the simple resolution is; Treat CPU as if it was Core and Core as if it was CPU, the readings are simply reversed. As for AUX, don't worry about that, it shows like that on a lot of setups since its trying to read from a sensor which isn't there.
 

AndyTDI

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
38
WarZard said:
I thought the Core0/1 temps should be higher than the CPU temp

They should. I've seen quite a few cases like these, I don't know why it does this but the simple resolution is; Treat CPU as if it was Core and Core as if it was CPU, the readings are simply reversed. As for AUX, don't worry about that, it shows like that on a lot of setups since its trying to read from a sensor which isn't there.

That seems to be what it is doing but it's a bit strange for 4 differant apps and the bios to all be getting it wrong.:rolleyes:

Thanks

Andy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top