1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hijack and Norton Issues

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by ~Candy~, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Please find below copy HijackThis scan :

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 11:35:28, on 12/04/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Apps\ActivBoard\nhksrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\ccPxySvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\slserv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Virtual CD v4 SDK\system\vcssecs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    C:\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\Apps\ActivBoard\MMKeybd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Apps\ActivBoard\TrayMon.exe
    C:\Apps\ActivBoard\OSD.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
    http://www.freeserve.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title =
    Microsoft Internet Explorer
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:
    \apps\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {243B17DE-77C7-46BF-B94B-0B5F309A0E64} - C:\Program
    Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyside.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program
    Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:
    \WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} -
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HTpatch] C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIModeChange] Ati2mdxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\ATI Technologies\ATI Control
    Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ACTIVBOARD] C:\Apps\ActivBoard\MMKeybd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec
    Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe
    SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft
    Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Money Viewer (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet
    Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll

    Also, the message that I'm getting when I try to activate Norton is as
    follows :

    Access Denied. Only the Supervisor can view / change the options.

    It won't let me enable auto protect.

    It tells me that Auto protect is not loaded, and asks me if I want to load
    it, but does not give me a choice to do so ? it just says Enable, and that
    doesn't work!

    Hope you can get some sense out of this!

    Thanks again.
    Jennifer
     
  2. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    There's nothing bad in the log. This is the only thing that should be fied:

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)

    It's not causing the problems though.

    Have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling Norton? That should solve the Auto Protect problem.

    I'm not familiar with NIS or how/where/if it has the cookie control. I do believe it does. Disabling the cookie control might enable you to access this site. I have seen similar problems related to Zone Alarm.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Actually Mark, uninstalling/reinstalling Norton is not as easy as it sounds :( I just went thru a vicious uninstall, it's on par with McAfee :eek:

    I'm actually doing a reinstall of XP on another machine now, and it had Norton, I reinstalled XP to the same directory, and even though no programs appear on the start menu, Norton was still there. I installed to the same directory and it's giving me problems. I think I'll have to run thru the manual uninstall before my job is done *sigh* Nothing is ever easy ;) Good thing it's just my trial and error machine :D
     
  4. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    Yes Candy I use Norton SystemWorks on all my machines. I've had times when the uninstall/reinstall went flawlessly, but I have had problems before too.

    I like Norton Systemworks myself, because It comes with Ghost and the AV has never let me down. Also I always wait until at least latter part of the year and buy it for $10 ;). The amount of resources it uses has never been a problem for me because I'm not going to run a machine that doesn't have plenty of resources, unless of course it's a test machine.

    I've never used NIS as I like Zone Alarm Pro.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    You pay way too much :D I wait until it's free after rebates :D
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Mark, I just received an email from Jennifer again, and I misunderstood her connection problem, that is a problem from her work computer and I'm sure the IT department has something to do with that. This Norton problem is on her home machine and she wasn't sure she should attempt to get on the internet without Norton working correctly. She will try to update the thread tonight, while being careful not to download emails, etc. until we can work thru the Norton problem.
     
  7. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    (y) I'll be here. ;)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220754

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice