Hijack This Log

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Choccy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
28
If someone could take a look at this Hijack This Log and tell me what's safe to delete, I would be extremely grateful.
Thanks



Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 14:25:17, on 27/09/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\eEBSVC.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\SPEEDD~1\nopdb.exe
C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Dit.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\fxssvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC2.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe
D:\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DitExp.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
D:\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://searchbar.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.freeserve.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://searchbar.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
O4 - Global Startup: Freeserve Connection Kit.lnk = C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe
O4 - Global Startup: WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = D:\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.freeserve.com/
O16 - DPF: ConferenceRoom Java Client - http://java.irc.liveharmony.org:8000/java/cr.cab
O16 - DPF: symsupportutil - https://www-secure.symantec.com/techsupp/activedata/symsupportutil.CAB
O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37670.4321064815
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
IF freeserve is NOT your ISP it looks to be a hijack.

In Hijack This, check ALL of the following items. Double check so as to be sure not to miss a single one.
Next, close all browser Windows, and have HT fix all checked.

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://searchbar.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.freeserve.com/
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://searchbar.findthewebsiteyouneed.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080;ftp=http://www-cache.freeserve.com:8080

O4 - Global Startup: Freeserve Connection Kit.lnk = C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe

O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.freeserve.com/



IF you are running ME or XP Disable SYSTEM RESTORE : How to disable or enable System Restore in Windows ME

How to disable or enable System Restore in Windows XP


Next reboot into Safe Mode and remove the following files and folders that are bolded

C:\freeserve\freeserveconnectionkit\atdialler1.exe

See here http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001052409420406 for how to start in safe mode if you don't know how.

Reboot into normal mode

RE-ENABLE SYSTEM RESTORE and create a new restore point


Now download Spybot - Search & Destroy (if you haven't got the program installed already)

After installing, first press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.

Next, close all Internet Explorer windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove/fix all it finds that are in RED

Reboot

Last, run HJT again and post your log again to see if anything was missed.

Thanks
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
I wouldn't delete the freeserve connection kit dialler otherwise you will find yourself being unable to connect at peak times or at least surfing very slowly, like in the good old days.

This software is the onlyway to ensure a stable conection with freeserve as it redirects to alternative numbers/ servers depending on the load
 

Choccy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
28
Thanks everyone.
My ISP is Freeserve, so I haven't deleted anything with any reference to it, just the 'findthewebsiteyouneed' references.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
OK, thanks Dvk and Choccy on the info on Freeserve. It's hard to know, let alone keep up with, all the different ISP's world wide. I'm glad I qualified my suggestions. It looked like it could have been a legit ISP, but if it was a hijack I wanted to be on the safe side. That's why I put out the info and let the user make the decision. :D
 

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
Originally posted by NiteHawk:
OK, thanks Dvk and Choccy on the info on Freeserve. It's hard to know, let alone keep up with, all the different ISP's world wide. I'm glad I qualified my suggestions. It looked like it could have been a legit ISP, but if it was a hijack I wanted to be on the safe side. That's why I put out the info and let the user make the decision. :D
freeserve is just about the biggest UK isp, but it has been known to do an AOL and take over the computer with it's settings, especially it's proxy servers

the connection kit is the only good thing they have ever done as it does balance the load and stops some of the complaints about overloaded servers, but it can & does go wrong from time to time
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top