hijacked??? not sure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

foxtrotsam2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
76
what happens when your comp has been hijacked. I wanted to post here before I go to security forum. There is activity on my comp which I did not perform. Eg. Someone is attempting to access my email account from the other end of the country, activities that I know i did not perform. I ran norton security on it and it results clean or problem has been removed but the records in the security check provides me with a long list of attempts on my computer. I have the IP addresses I kept them in case they become of use. I,m sure it's not a virus, the activity is human related. What do I do. Also when I log on, it shows I logged on from British Columbia which is across the country from where I live. When I change my password, it shows I changed my password, but from B.C.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I've moved your thread from "Tips & Tricks" as that's a section for posting Tips and Tricks and not asking questions. General Security would be much better suited for your question.
 

foxtrotsam2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
76
Thank you Triple6.....what I forgot to mention is my os is windows 7 home premium 32 bit.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Your IP address could just be resolving to a B.C. address because the ISP using a block for that area or that's where their servers are. If you go to www.whatismyip.com does it give you that same IP and area?
 

foxtrotsam2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
76
I went to www.whatismyip.com. the ip from B.C. activity is not my ip displayed at the link. The activities I am referring to are simple log on(s), for web browsing. It seems to me that everything i do is automatically recorded in my security check list. It's my location that bothers me, I am not located in B.C. I'm going to check my IP again later to see if it remains the same (static) or it may change. But the IP in my security check is much different from mine. I also contacted my ISP maybe they will have an explanation for me
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
13,673
So you are saying that you found logons to your PC is from another IP ? Where did you find that?

And what is your security check list ? Is it a program?
 

foxtrotsam2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
76
Yes, the ip that logged on from B.C. had a long string of (digits, numbers, letters) like about 16, maybe even 20, I didn't count, that are not anything close to my ip which has only afew, like about 208, xxx,xxx, that's it. but I just noticed something since I posted, everything I do, it syncs/shows up in my gmail check list as being performed exactly the same time I logged on, performed anything on my comp. eg. just going to websites in general. So I'm seriously thinking about what Triple 6 is saying (above), maybe that's what it is, when I run my virus scan (Norton) it comes clean.....
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,056
OK so we were all wondering where you were getting this information (what security check list you're referring to) so I think I found that it's the security check list of activity in gmail itself. As explained on the page at the following link they sometimes get the location wrong:

https://support.google.com/mail/answer/45938?hl=en

For the record, we had you posting from BC when you started this thread and now it's showing Winnipeg and a different carrier.

Do you log in using any mobile devices at times?

I am curious though about these long numbers you say logged in because I don't know of any IP addresses that have characters in them and/or are that long. Perhaps you can send me a PM with a sample of one.
 

foxtrotsam2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
76
right now I'm not at home, I am in Winnipeg only for 5 days then I will be back home with my own PC. I'm not all that savy about all this, what's PM, I would like to send you the IP from B.C. and mine for comparison in private but how do I do that..........oh, and now I am using my daughters laptop, am not at my desktop. Those security checks I ran were through gmail that's where I found all these messages about what I felt were strange activities.....
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,056
PM stands for private message. Just click on my username and from the drop down options section the one to send me a private message. No one else can see a private message.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top