1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

home computer access

Discussion in 'Networking' started by drafter, Jan 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. drafter

    drafter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    419
    I am away from home alot and it would be nice to have access everything on my home computer. I do not have a lap top so I end up using a computer at the library or internet cafe etc.. Is there any way that I can access the data on my computer throught the internet and a password while I am away from home. I dont mind putting software on my home computer at home but I can't put it one every computer that I go to while I am out of town.

    thanx
     
  2. lilhlfpint

    lilhlfpint

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    (at home do you use dial-up or do you have dedicated internet access? and if you have a dedicated connection do you have a public ip address?

    if you have dedicated internet access with a public ip address you can install some sort of remote software. some examples are: pc anywhere or vnc.

    if you have dial-up you will need access to a system with a modem and analog line so you can dial up remotely.)
     
  3. lburpee

    lburpee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    With PC anywhere and VNC they would have to be installed on both computers, and being given install rights may be hard to come by.
     
  4. lilhlfpint

    lilhlfpint

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    (vnc can be accessed via web browser simply by attaching to port 5800.)
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you use VNC or better tightVNC, you can install the server on your home computer, and just run the client from a floppy on the road, no installation required. I use tightVNC for support of remote clients, works like a champ. :)
     
  6. nomad

    nomad

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    387
    I have 3 computers with a 4 port router, my router is giving all the computers at my house and ip address. I am running win2k does anyone know how I can get by my router and once I do get by it what will I see (3 computers of 1)? Can I allow a specific ip address access to my computer? If so does anyone know how to do this?

    thanx
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The specific method is dependent on the make/model of router, but in general they all work in a similar manner. You have to open ports to specific machines, so if you wanted to have a web server, you could have one, but not two running on the standard http port of 80. In my SMC Barricade, these settings are under "Virtual Server".

    You can run VNC server on different ports, so the server could go to different machines on different ports to allow access to all the machines from your external client.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112503

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice