Home Network Connection Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
I'm visiting my daughter who has a home network with multiple computers all using wireless connection. While here, I connect to it and enjoy the high speed connection (I'm on dial-up at my home :( ).

Here is my question... When I enable the wireless connection on my Dell Inspiron 1501 laptop, the connection works just fine, but the status stays at "Acquiring network address" (see screen shot 1). Just fooling around, I found if I enable the LAN connection, the wireless connection immediately switches to "Connected" (see screen shot 2). I can then disable the LAN connection and the wireless connection stays connected. The Gateway (Router) status is "Connected" in either case.

If anyone has any advice or insight regarding how to get the wireless to complete the acquisition process without activating the LAN connection, I'd like to know it.

BTW... Wireless connection is via Dell WLAN card. Router is a Belkin 802.11. Signal strength is 4 bars (high).

Raybro
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
I've never heard of that happening. Your first screen shot shows that the wireless already has an IP address. To satisfy my curiosity, does that bottom left show a complete configuration before you enable the LAN?

What happens if you leave the wireless connection enabled all the time, and switch off the wireless when you are not using it, and then just switch the wireless on? Does it connect then, or do you still have to go into Network Connections and do the little dance with the LAN connection?

P.S.--the wireless on a Dell can usually be toggled on and off with the Fn + F2 key combination.
 

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Thanks for responding TerryNet... Please clarify why you say the first screen shot indicates it already has an IP address.

In the highlighted area (wireless network connection), it clearly says "Acquiring network address", which is the condition I posted about. The second screen shot is after enabling the LAN connection, then disabling it after the wireless connection acquisition is accomplished.

Good tip on the Fn+F2 thing. If I use that and cycle through off - on, the wireless is again in the acquisition status. If I enable the LAN and the wireless is "connected", leave the LAN enabled, then cycle the Fn+F2 off - on sequence, the wireless connection again stays in acquisition status until I disable/enable the LAN connection. Hope that is clear and understandable.

Raybro
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Please clarify why you say the first screen shot indicates it already has an IP address.
See attachment.

Hope that is clear and understandable.
Yes. Your description is very clear and understandable. But I have no clue why it's happening or how to fix. Guess I would install (or reinstall) the latest wireless driver from Dell's web site, but that's just kinda an automatic response with little expectation of being a solution.
 

Attachments

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
OK, understand now your reference to the lower left corner... Didn't get that first time around.

Not surprising though because, as I said, even though the"acquiring network address" is displayed, I can still connect to the internet. As a side note, the wireless icon in the systray (a single monitor screen image) has a little animated yellow dot moving back and forth under it and hovering the mouse cursor pops up a message that also says "acquiring network address".

This condition causes no practical problem, just curious as to how it happens and what, if anything, can be done about it.

Anyone else have anything to contribute??? Any and all opinions/guesses/requests for info are respectfully solicited.

Raybro
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Are you using the Dell WLAN utillity or XP's Wireless Zero Configuration (WZC) to manage the connection? And, is the other one running? If multiple wireless utilities are running they can conflict and give various problems. Maybe what you are seeing is just one more of the seemingly endless symptoms of their battles for control of the adapter.
 

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Forgot to mention, I checked the Dell site for WLAN Card drivers and downloaded the latest version its 4.60.18.9 Dated 3/23/2007. My current installed driver is v4.10.40.0 Dated 11/02/2005. Perhaps updating the driver would be a good thing. Opinions??

Raybro
 

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Are you using the Dell WLAN utillity or XP's Wireless Zero Configuration (WZC) to manage the connection? And, is the other one running? If multiple wireless utilities are running they can conflict and give various problems. Maybe what you are seeing is just one more of the seemingly endless symptoms of their battles for control of the adapter.
Using the Dell 1390 WLAN mini-card. The few times I have tried use the windows utility, I got the message it was not controlling the wireless connection. I assumed this to indicates the Dell WLAN card was in control. How can I verify that.

Raybro
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
How can I verify that.
You just did: "... tried use the windows utility, I got the message it was not controlling ...". :)

Perhaps updating the driver would be a good thing. Opinions??
For sure. In the extremely unlikely case that it makes things worse you can rollback the driver.
 

raybro

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
For sure. In the extremely unlikely case that it makes things worse you can rollback the driver.
Yeah, I knew that. Just wondered what you thought about doing so. I suppose it can't hurt.

I'll let you know what happens. Probably do it in the morning when the old gray matter is functioning a bit better than it is now. Thank God for spell check.

Raybro
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top