1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home network speeds? Hardware?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Stayfair11, Feb 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stayfair11

Stayfair11 Thread Starter

Hi there. I'm a home networking novice, learning on the fly. I have a Dell 3.2GHz P4 running WinXP home and a Dell 600MHz PIII running Win98SE that I successfully networked together (Ethernet) this past weekend.

The network card in the PIII is the one it shipped with from Dell 4 or so years ago (it occupies a PCI slot), the network card in the P4 is an onboard (Intel PRO/100 VE?) model, and I bought a Linksys EtherFast cable/dsl router with 4 port switch.

In the Local Area Connection box on my P4 machine I see a connection speed of 100Mbps. Is this the theoretical max I can expect with my hardware set up?

Will I not be capable of reaching my max speed because of a basic onboard NIC in one machine and an old NIC in the other machine?

In short, should I buy two new Fast Ethernet NIC's and install them to get my best performance? I'll be using the network to transfer files between machines, share the internet, share printers and a little gaming.

After installing my network, I copied (from the P3 to the P4) 225MB of picture files in roughly 5 minutes. Does this speed sound appropriate considering my machines and hardware set up? I don't know what to expect.

Thanks for the help.

Tom

As an aside, I've install Cat5e throughout my entire house to a central point downstairs...if I were to buy a gigabit router/switch and install gigabit Ethernet cards in both machines, having installed Cat5e I should be able to have gigabit Ethernet in my house correct?