1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home Network troubles

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Ridgeroader, Feb 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Win XP home on laptop Win XP Pro on Desktop & Linksys WRT54G router. Both computers have wireless connection.
    I have tried to get them to talk to each other. No Luck.
    I get MSHOME not accessible You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator to find out if you have access permissions. List of servers for this workgroup not currently available.




    frustrating to say the least.
    Scott
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    do you have any firewall programs installed like ZoneAlarm?

    Also make sure that both of your machines are on the same workgroup.
     
  3. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Laptop & Desktop had Zone Alarms (freeware) but I uninstalled it. Both machines are on the same workgroup name. I can ping the laptop from the desktop.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    can you ping desktop to laptop?
     
  5. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Yes I can.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    If the IP address information is the same (as in subnet mask, gateway etc) then it looks like ZA may still be on your machines, you have another program that has a firewall protection, or you don't have file sharing enabled.

    Do you have any anti-virus programs installed?
     
  7. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    I have AVG free on both machines
     
  8. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Here is the one from my laptop:
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : hplaptop

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless-G Notebook Adapter v.2.0 #2

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-66-D8-E1-A2

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::20f:66ff:fed8:e1a2%4

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.19.2.83

    216.19.2.84

    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 07, 2007 08:35:27

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 08, 2007 08:35:27



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : National Semiconductor Corp. DP83815/816 10/100 MacPhyter PCI Adapter #2

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-9D-44-44-CA



    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-F4-1A-B5-32-3F-85

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e388:0:f41a:b532:3f85

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%6

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-64

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.100%2

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here is the one from my desktop:
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PEPTOROOM

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 5:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-D4-E4-66

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.19.2.83

    216.19.2.84

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 07, 2007 8:20:29 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 08, 2007 8:20:29 AM
     
  9. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    I see the Host names are different. I'll see if I can change that.
     
  10. Ridgeroader

    Ridgeroader Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Both host names are the same now.
    Scott
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,092
    First Name:
    James
    host names should not be the same.

    I have also noticed that your IP address is in IPv6. That may be causing the problem. If you are not using IPv6 for anything else, uninstall that in the network connection of your NIC on your laptop.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542014

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice