1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home Network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sonyamcquaid, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sonyamcquaid

    sonyamcquaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have 3 computers on home network - vista, windows 7 and windows xp. We were all able to see each other until this morning. Now we can not see vista anymore but windows 7 and xp can still see each other. Vista has Macfee security and had an update last night. I tried turning off Mcafee firewall and this did not solve the problem. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    are you paying for a full version of mcafee or is this a time limited trail?

    often mcafee / norton firewalls will block access and need to be removed, often using a removal tool - see below

    Have you logged into the firewall settings and ensured the IP range of your network is setup

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Mcafee RemovalTool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. sonyamcquaid

    sonyamcquaid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the reply,
    I have paid for a full version of Mcafee, I would like to keep this. I don't know how to work IP range of network. I'm not very technical. II just seen that the Vista computer can see the other 2 computers, but we can not see the vista computer
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to see a trusted network ip range you can set

    from any PC post an ipconfig /all here and we can tell you the range to set

    This describes how to set individual computers - but there should also be an option to set a range of IP for your full network
    http://www.ehow.com/how_5814253_set-computers-mcafee-security-center.html

    http://download.mcafee.com/products/manuals/en-us/MPF_UserGuide_2006.pdf
    From the "Security Center", choose "Personal Firewall".
    Click on "Utilities".
    Click on "Trusted and Banned IP", and the trusted and banned IP window will appear.
    Make sure that you are on the "Trusted IP Addresses" tab. Click on "Add" to add an IP address, and the "Add IP Address" window will appear.
    In the IP address Range , enter ......
    from any PC post an ipconfig /all here and we can tell you the range to set

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029197

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice