Home Networking - can't log on to network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Viper

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 1999
Messages
366
My computer had a virus, I got rid of it, but it meant formatting my computer.

Prior to this, there were three computers networked together via a hub in my flat.

Windows ME auto9matically installed a driver for my network card and I installed the proper one over that anyway just to be sure.

Now, the problem is this:

I cannot access the network's shared files when I open "My Network Places". I can however, go to Start>search>computers and type in the name of a computer on the network and find it and broswe the shared files and folders that way.

THe error I get is "Unable to browse the network. Windows is unable to gain access to the network. This may be for a number of reasons."

Now, I have tried EVERY option as suggested by their help screen to get around this. It seems to think my computer name is NOT unique, which it is as I have tried many different names.

I can connect to the net through the home network, but not access the shared files and flders, why ??!?! its driving me a bit mad.

When windows boots, it comes up with the user prompt and the it disappears befor ei have the chance to "Ok" it.

Help please....
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Did you install the correct driver over the top of what was already there? Was it working before you installed other drivers? I suggest removing it from Device Manager, rebooting, and let ME detect it and install built-in drivers if they exist.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
248
Try using ME's home-networking wizard,...

start
programs
accessories
communicatios
home networking

...just follow the wizard, .....
 

Viper

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 1999
Messages
366
i can access the net & access shared files but i either get an error "unable to browse network" or see no shared files when i gp tp My Network Places>Entire Network :mad:

ive tried pretty much everything :(
 

Viper

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 1999
Messages
366
this is a temp fix i was told about :

type the name of the computer I want to connect to into IE.

eg \\dixxy\
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
248
Also,...try this:
Right-click network-places
select properties
in primary network login: hit dropdown menu
choose-Client for microsoft windows
then reboot computer...

You should then be able to log on as before this all happened...

If you the entire network still doesn't show...
go back into the properties of each computer
& on the second tab at the top
check what "workgroup" is named
make sure yours is the same name

(...got some more ideas too...)
 

Viper

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 5, 1999
Messages
366
Originally posted by yomaddog
Hey ,
Can the other computers see you from network-places?
yup

plus, client for... already selected - always has been
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top