1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home Networking server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Chadmoore80, Dec 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chadmoore80

Chadmoore80 Thread Starter

Seasons greetings to all....

I'm new here so I apologise if this is in a different location.

This is what I'm trying to find out the path and direction and prices etc.

I am interested in buying a home file sharing server on where I can have full access to all of my files.. all for home and personal usages..

I was looking at a few different ways to do this but all I have been getting is around about....

One item I'm looking at is a WD (NAS) home server..... But as I have said before I am very new at this so, I don't know on how to hook it up and set this up, I have Shaw cable for my internet.. can someone please direct me and provide me helpful tools for this....
    And maybe step me through this process....

Thanks....

2. lunarlander

lunarlander

I don't need a NAS because a) I am single, so I don't need to share my files with anyone or any other PC. b) a new piece of networking hardware brings new security problems; I'd rather upgrade my PC's hard drive than introduce more vulnerabilities to my network.

3. DaveA

DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    David
    I have a Windows 7 machine set us as a storage unit. It also has had a shared printer connected to at a time of two.
    I use a KVM switch to access it,. This switch allows the sharing of the keyboard, monitor and mouse and one two devices the speakers. The current one support 4 different machines.

4. Gr3iz

Gr3iz

First Name:
    Mark