1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home Page login

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by summer_21_55, Jan 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. summer_21_55

    summer_21_55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    I have recently installed a 72000RPM Harddrive. And my home Yahoo Page seems to take forever to download. Anyone know a solution.
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    I can't see how one could affect the other - is it only your home page that is slow to d'load ?

    Have you tried changing your home page ?

    Does everything else on your new h'drive work ?

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. summer_21_55

    summer_21_55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    steam -
    thanks for the reply, but when I tried to open the exe file I got an error missing fill MSVBVM60.DLL . Do you mean the boot sequence? No I have not tried changing the Home Page. The Web works fine after I let the Home page boot. It takes like 5+ minutes to load completely, then things are cool. I use IE as server.
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  5. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi summer_21_55

    By changing your home page - I just meant go to Tools\internet options, and type in a new home page (http://www.google.com) see how quick that loads - you can just change it back again

    But please post your startup after installing the new vb60 runtime from Rollin' Rog's link

    steam
     
  6. summer_21_55

    summer_21_55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    StartupList report, 1/9/03, 4:17:47 PM
    StartupList version: 1.50
    Started from : C:\MY DOCUMENTS\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\REAL\REALPLAYER\REALPLAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINMX\WINMX.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPFBKG08.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPFTBX08.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\MY DOCUMENTS\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    Norton eMail Protect = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POProxy.exe
    EM_EXEC = c:\progra~1\system\em_exec.exe
    Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    RealTray = C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
    (* = disabled by HKCU twin)

    [{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

    [PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

    [{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
    StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

    [{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

    [{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
    StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

    [>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
    StubPath = C:\Progra~1\Online~1\MSN\msnmig.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

    load=
    run=

    --------------------------------------------------

    Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

    Shell=Explorer.exe
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\3DFLOW~1.SCR
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

    C:\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
    C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 7/1/2003, 23:58:32)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\PROGRA~1\YAHOO!\COMPAN~1\MODULES\MESSMOD2\V4\YHEXBMES.DLL

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    @C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVDX.EXE /Startup

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\CONFIG.SYS listing:

    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\setver.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

    c:\progra~1\mouse.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Checking for superhidden extensions:

    .lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .exe: not hidden
    .com: not hidden
    .bat: not hidden
    .hta: not hidden
    .scr: not hidden
    .shs: HIDDEN!
    .shb: HIDDEN!
    .vbs: not hidden
    .vbe: not hidden
    .wsh: not hidden
    .scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
    .url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
    .js: not hidden
    .jse: not hidden

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YCOMP5_0_2_7.DLL - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Run LiveUpdate (for Norton AntiVirus).job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37604.6937268519

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [Yahoo! Companion]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YCOMP5_0_2_7.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/toolbar/yiebio5_0_2_7.cab

    [RdxIE Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\RDXIE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://207.188.7.150/1573d4a5213fce5b8202/netzip/RdxIE6.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,010 bytes
    Report generated in 0.471 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  7. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    I see nothing obvious, but you do have yahoo companion installed as a BHO - I would try uninstalling this and see if it made any difference, but I can't guarantee anything - you appear to have a pretty clean comp there, but have you tried running spybot just in case some spyware is causing the trouble

    This is "spybot" if you want to try it - can't do any harm

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybot11r3.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    steam
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112100

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice