1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home wireless network - internet works fine on laptop and ps3 but not desktop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gravox, Jan 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gravox

    gravox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi guys,

    All of a sudden my desktop internet has stopped working. I am typing from my laptop now and it works fine, it also works fine on my ps3. I don't think I changed anything, i just went away for a week and when I came back the net was down. It's like it doesnt even try to open any webpages.

    Here is the ipconfig information

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JDQUAD
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-70-FA-FF

    Ethernet adapter Network Connect Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Juniper Network Connect Virtual Adap
    ter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-68-3B-84-8A

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g 54M
    bps USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-AF-51-EB-52
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 16 January 2011 11:53:48 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 16 January 2011 11:53:48 PM
     
  2. gravox

    gravox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Xirrus screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Do you have a security suite on the PC or ever on the PC like norton or mcafee etc
    looks like you still have an IP ok - but now gateway
    Try a TCP/IP reset - see below
    then
    try these ping tests
    if that does not work - connect to the router by cable and see if that works if not
    keep tapping f8 as the PC boots and choose "safemode with networking"

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. gravox

    gravox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    tcp ip reboot sorted it all out thanks
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974942

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice