1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Home XP Services

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by [email protected], Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. billjh@centu

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Does anyone know how to config. in SERVICES, HTTP SSL, Univ. Plug & Play, and
    Windows Media. They are all entertwined and depend on each other. OS; Home XP.

    Thanks,

    Billjh
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  3. billjh@centu

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    483
    No, If you go into Services, you will find you have to have a certain account as shown in
    the dialog box of the "LOG ON TAB".
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I'm afraid I still don't undertstand what you are trying to do.

    Are you referring to an account with Administrative rights?
     
  5. billjh@centu

    [email protected] Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    483
    Yes, when resetting the account, it will request a password.
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well if all accounts with Administrative rights on the machine are password protected, and you don't have a valid password, there's not much I can do for you.

    You must have Administrative rights to make changes like that.

    If you can reboot in Safe Mode, you can make such changes because you will only be able to access accounts with Administrative rights there.

    Perhaps some of the suggestions here are relevant to your mission:

    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/win_xp_passwords.htm
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437253

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice