Homegroup frustration!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
I have a desktop and a laptop running W7 Home Premium. Desktop is connected by cable to router (it was wifi and did not change anything with problem), laptop wifi. I have tried to setup a homegroup on both but come up against the same response - "cannot join this homegroup"???
I can see each PC on the 'Network'. I have checked all 'turn on sharing' buttons.
I have checked that all 'Services' are enabled and automatic on both units.
Both have MS Security Essentials as well as Avast antivirus ( I had AVG but binned it several weeks ago after many years of grateful use).
I have been trying for months to resolve this problem and cannot understand what I've done wrong. I've even shut down the homegroup and restarted after checking all the services but I still get the same response.
Can anyone save my sanity, PLEASE?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
first i would run the AVG removal tool - incase that is blocking access

AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/us-en/download-tools
AVG - 32bit
http://download.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avg_remover_stf_x86_2011_1149.exe
AVG - 64bit
http://download.avg.com/filedir/util/support/avg_remover_stf_x64_2011_1149.exe


next have a read here for sharing windows 7 PCs

windows 7
Use the Homegroup Feature in Windows 7 to Share Printers and Files
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-7/share-files-and-printers-in-windows-7-with-homegroup/

Share and Stream Digital Media Between Windows 7 Machines On Your Home Network
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/9469...ween-windows-7-machines-on-your-home-network/
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
Thanks etaf.
Running AVG removal tool - stopped twice during process and closed itself???
Running AVG 32-bit - did exactly the same???
I've already tried the howtogeek pages. Still come up against "Windows cannot join this homegroup" message.

Regards,

krisani.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
Running AVG removal tool - stopped twice during process and closed itself???
Running AVG 32-bit - did exactly the same???
mmm have you tried in safemode ?

heres an updated page for AVG
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/download-tools

otherwise you could install this program and see if it finds AVG on the PC at all
General Uninstall Tool
http://download.cnet.com/Revo-Uninstaller/3000-2096_4-10687648.html

can you ping the machines from each PC
goto a command prompt - start>programs>accessories>right click on command prompt and run as administrator
now you can type
PING followed by the IP of the machine
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
The AVG remover I used was the latest (i.e. Jan 3rd, 2011)

Not tried safe mode yet, was hoping for other suggestions first.

Have done ping test for IP address and PC name on both PCs and both were perfect, 4 out of 4.

With 'safe mode' should I restart both PCs in safe mode and try connecting then?

Regards,

krisani.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
if you want to try networking in safe mode - then you need to be connected to router by cable and use
safemode with networking

do both machines have the same username and password on the PC ?
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
Separate usernames and passwords for each machine.

Laptop came with McAfee free 30day trial - I binned straight away (2½yrs ago).
Desktop came with Bullguard which I binned a month ago after having to do complete 'recovery' last month.
These same problems have existed since I bought the desktop last September.
Have looked at PCWorld's page about this - my printer is visible and usable (via WiFi) on both PCs.

Is there something I need to do to remove all traces of the former anti-virus programs?

Regards,
krisani.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
Separate usernames and passwords for each machine.
i would create new accounts with the same name and password

we maybe going down the wrong path - but so often these security programs cause issues, even after uninstalled - we have had issues with norton , 3 years after uninstalling
But i'm in danger of drumming a dead drum, but here goes

you could use the general uninstaller I posted earlier post #4 and see if it finds any of the programs you think you have uninstalled

how to remove bulldog
http://www.bullguard.com/support/product-guides/bullguard-internet-security-guides/uninstall.aspx

Mcafee RemovalTool
http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
Both have MS Security Essentials as well as Avast antivirus
Don't know if this is interfering with your Homegroups, but you should only have one anti-virus application running,
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
I have used the removal tools for bullguard - no problem, and McAfee but the McAfee one has given me a "Starforce Protection" error message? (it did successfully uninstall it first). As far as I was aware I don't have any "Starforce Protection"?

I'm a little confused when you say create new accounts with the same name and p/w. The PCs have different names and p/ws (obviously) but I have used the same homegroup p/w generated on each PC to try to get them working together. I've created a homegroup on one then used that p/w to get the other connected and vice versa. Each time the primary PC creates the homegroup and p/w but each time the other PC shows "Windows cannot join this homegroup" message.

Can you clarify what you mean by create new accounts with the same name and p/w, please?

Before I go much further I will get a lead and connect the laptop to the router and try that.

Watch this space!!!

Thanks again for your efforts.
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
Sorry Terry, I didn't see you reply before I made my last. MSE is supposed to be quite good. Would you suggest that I remove Avast then?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
if you goto the security section, you will see a lot of the members here and the security gurus recommend both MSE and Avast and often recommend MSE
I have now removed most Avast from my and clients PCs and replaced with MSE
so a 2nd for Terry suggestion
 

krisani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
21
Right Gentlemen,

I've removed Avast and left them with MSE.
Also, both are now connected via cable to router.
Yet when I try to get the desktop onto the laptop's homegroup, the same message occurs.

I don't think that we've found the solution yet, sorry.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top