Hoping to upgrade an emachine

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Traifin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
16
Hello,

Current specs:
Windows XP Home Edition
Emachine T2482
Motherboard FIC Socket A AM37
Athlon XP 2100 Processor
512Mb DDR200 SDram
Onboard Audio
Onboard Video: Pro Savage 8 (pci)

Target additions:
Onboard video: ati radeon 7500 (agp)

As many now seem to know, upgrading an emachine is not always as simple as they make it out to be.

First, i had to upgrade to the newest bios for my motherboard just to get an option to make the primary video source my agp slot.

The problem i am having is that the computer automatically locks up upon running online games such as everquest which are graphic intensive.

I am guessing that by switching the primary/initial video source in the bios to agp, that the onboard video is Not disabled.

In winxp's control panel's hardware settings, i find that the onboard video drivers are still loading even if i uninstall them while installing the radeon's drivers.

So i believe the problem is a conflicting driver as the two cards fight over the use of the computer.

As a side note, in win xp home edition, is there a way to force the computer Not to automatically install drivers? Many times the drivers that i wish to install are overriden by what windows considers to be the best drivers; also some hardware such as the onboard video card that i would like to have disabled, keep re-installing upon reboot... when the radeon is first installed, the software has to be rebooted to take effect, but before the radeon display driver takes effect, the onboard video card's driveris loaded first, and so it is found first by the ati software, subsequently giving me a message from the ati software saying that no ati hardware can be found so the program will not execute.

Effectively, i need to disable this on board video card hardware wise and software wise,... i really want to play eq2 hehe.

I could use some help, greatly.

Just a side note, i have been to the unofficial emachines help page, and followed the instructions of how to fix this problem, but to no avail.

Traifin
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,278
Hmm, onboard video, if I remember correctly only "certain" AGP video cards will even work in that machine, you've found one that it will post with but...

getting it stable will be interesting.

Try to set the AGP speed to 1x or 2x, it won't affect performance much but your box might become stable.

Onto the other problem, windows is going to want to install drivers for the onboard PCI graphics no matter what, you have to live with it as its now the secondary video card, if you can find a way to disable it completely (sometimes removing ram from dimm socket 1 does the trick) you won't have that problem but not all boards will let you do that (I haven't found any way to disable onboard video on the board either).

If anyone can help this place
http://forums.viaarena.com/categories.cfm?catid=24
Probably can, they will know if what your doing is possible and can give specific tips.

Good Luck
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Is there a setting in the bios setup to disable the onboard video? Some boards also have a jumper pin I think, to disable.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
The post is a bit confusing:
---------------------------------
Onboard Video: Pro Savage 8 (pci)

Target additions:
Onboard video: ati radeon 7500 (agp)

"On-Board" - means its built into the system board... non removable.

"Installed" or "card" means its an add0on card.

So... does this mean you're using an onboard video and 2 different video cards as well?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
IMO, I'd find a home for the machine and move to a real MB for the upgrades. I suspect you'll find that the whole experience is pretty disappointing when the smoke clears. Also, the eMachines I've seen have had pretty anemic power supplies, and a modern video board is a real power hog, that might push it over the edge.
 

Traifin

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
16
Thanks for the suggestions, i will try them.

I have checked on the mobo for a jumper and found none to disable the onboard video card (sorry for the confusion compilerxp). Johnwill, i fully agree with your recommendation, but money is tight right now... i already have this emachine and a radeon 7500, i would love to buy newer/better but that's going to be next year lol/// hmmm....LOL, just a thought...i could upgrade another pc here at the house, .... its older but a better game machine... the emachine is alot faster processor wise. Didn't know about the powersource... going to watch out for that.

Rmay i will try your suggestions asap. Thanks for the advice.

traifin
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top