"Host Process for Windows Services stopped working and was closed."

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

elgeejay

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
8
Clean install of Vista Business on a new HD, Dell 8400 w/2.5GB memory.

I keep getting a dialog box that pops up and says:

"Microsoft Windows
Host Process for Windows Service stopped working and was closed.

A problem caused the application of stop working correctly. Windows will notify you if a solutiion is available."

There doesn't appear to be any rhyme or reason for it... it just arbitrarily shows up from time to time. It's not related to booting Vista, I don't think, b/c it'll pop up occasionally during the same session.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
The process referred to is svchost.exe

A number of other services run under it.

It's a bit tricky to troubleshoot. Open the Control Panel > Performance Information and Tools and select Advanced. Look at the reliability index and look for a pointer to eventlog errors that might be associated with it.

Also post a HijackThis scanlog so we can see what is normally running. On a truly clean install I would suspect an antivirus or firewall program that might have come with your install. Or, sometimes it is related to problems with the Windows update service.

Download and install HijackThis. Run it and select "do a system scan and save the log file". Then copy/paste the contents of the log to a reply

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download5554.html

Next, install Process Explorer for Vista >>

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx

Once installed, run it and hold your mouse over the various svchost.exe entries or double click them and look at their services.

Note any obvious non-Microsoft services.

Do this before and after the "crash" -- and see if you can tell which set bites the dust after the crash.

The errant service will be among those most likely.

You can also try this: Start > run cmd

Highlight and copy the below command and right click on the command window and select "paste"

cd %userprofile%\desktop
tasklist /svc /fi "imagename eq svchost.exe" >> taskservlist.txt




This should produce a text file on your desktop which you can copy/paste here.
 

elgeejay

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
8
EDIT: I tried run:

*cmd*

then pasted (altho desktop and tasklist combined to be desktoptasklist)
*cd %userprofile%\desktop
tasklist /svc /fi "imagename eq svchost.exe" >> taskservlist.txt* but couldn't get it to run.

When I tried the *cmd*, I got message:
"Windows cannot find 'C:\Windows\system32\*cmd*.cmd.' Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again."

So I tired cmd and got the cmd window and C:\ prompt. Then I pasted the *cd...etc. and got the message "the filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect".

I tried it with desktoptasklist, then with a space (desktop tasklist) with same error message. In short, I could not get it to run at all.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for your quick and detailed reply. Here is the HiJack This result. Sadly, I don't know how to read it... or rather, to interpret it... so thanks for your help on this.

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 7:11:34 AM, on 2/21/2008
Platform: Windows Vista (WinNT 6.00.1904)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16609)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\Program Files\USB Electronic Scale\Scale.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\1.2.1128.5462\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\MPS\mpsevh.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\ieuser.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WLLoginProxy.exe
C:\Windows\system32\Macromed\Flash\FlashUtil9e.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqSTE08.exe
C:\Users\George\Desktop\HiJackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://mail.google.com/mail/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = *.local
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: scriptproxy - {7DB2D5A0-7241-4E79-B68D-6309F01C5231} - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\VIRUSS~1\scriptcl.dll
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe -hide
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [USB Electronic Scale] C:\Program Files\USB Electronic Scale\scale.exe /s
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Sidebar] C:\Program Files\Windows Sidebar\sidebar.exe /autoRun
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [swg] C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\1.2.1128.5462\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - Global Startup: HP Digital Imaging Monitor.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O15 - Trusted Zone: http://*.mcafee.com
O16 - DPF: {49312E18-AA92-4CC2-BB97-55DEA7BCADD6} (WMI Class) - http://support.dell.com/systemprofiler/SysProExe.CAB
O16 - DPF: {6B75345B-AA36-438A-BBE6-4078B4C6984D} - http://h20270.www2.hp.com/ediags/gmn2/install/HPProductDetection.cab
O16 - DPF: {6F15128C-E66A-490C-B848-5000B5ABEEAC} (HP Download Manager) - https://h20436.www2.hp.com/ediags/dex/secure/HPDEXAXO.cab
O16 - DPF: {80AEEC0E-A2BE-4B8D-985F-350FE869DC40} - http://h20264.www2.hp.com/ediags/dd/install/HPDriverDiagnosticsVista.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
O23 - Service: Bonjour Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee E-mail Proxy (Emproxy) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\McAfee\EmProxy\emproxy.exe
O23 - Service: Google Updater Service (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee HackerWatch Service - McAfee, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\McAfee\HackerWatch\HWAPI.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Update Manager (mcmispupdmgr) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\MSC\mcupdmgr.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Services (mcmscsvc) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\MSC\mcmscsvc.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Network Agent (McNASvc) - McAfee, Inc. - c:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\mcafee\mna\mcnasvc.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Scanner (McODS) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\VIRUSS~1\mcods.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Protection Manager (mcpromgr) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\MSC\mcpromgr.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Proxy Service (McProxy) - McAfee, Inc. - c:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\mcafee\mcproxy\mcproxy.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Redirector Service (McRedirector) - McAfee, Inc. - c:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\mcafee\redirsvc\redirsvc.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Real-time Scanner (McShield) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\VIRUSS~1\mcshield.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee SystemGuards (McSysmon) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\VIRUSS~1\mcsysmon.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Personal Firewall Service (MpfService) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\Program Files\McAfee\MPF\MPFSrv.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Privacy Service (MPS9) - McAfee, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee\MPS\mps.exe

--
End of file - 6544 bytes
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
The cmd window has to be open first, before you do the copy/paste. When copy/pasting, include both lines at once.

It always works for me, but sometimes others have trouble with it, I don't know why.

You might try typing and entering each line separately into the Window and see if you still get an error. The first line should take your path to the desktop. They actually are separate lines.

Failing that, try the Process Explorer utility and see if any of those McAfee entries are running under svchost.exe.

I don't see anything unusual in the scanlog.

Since you have Windows Vista, open the Control Panel > Performance Information and Tools > Advanced and look at the "Reliability Monitor".

This flags system errors going about as far back as the install. See when the problem began and what install might have preceedi it. Updates and most installs are listed there too.

Also, have you installed any Sidebar gadgets? If so, test disable them.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2
[FONT=Helvetica, Arial, Sans-Serif]"Host Process for Windows Services stopped working and was closed." [/FONT]

hi mate i am this same problem could you plz help me,
i have copied the command and pasted in the command prompt, i got a text file on my desk top, which is


Image Name PID Services
========================= ======== ============================================
svchost.exe 908 DcomLaunch, PlugPlay
svchost.exe 952 ASBroker, ASChannel
svchost.exe 1000 RpcSs
svchost.exe 1040 WinDefend
svchost.exe 1096 Audiosrv, Dhcp, Eventlog, lmhosts, wscsvc
svchost.exe 1120 AudioEndpointBuilder, EMDMgmt, hidserv,
Netman, PcaSvc, SysMain,
TabletInputService, TrkWks, UxSms,
WdiSystemHost, Wlansvc, WPDBusEnum, wudfsvc
svchost.exe 1248 gpsvc
svchost.exe 1308 EventSystem, fdPHost, LanmanWorkstation,
netprofm, nsi, SCardSvr, SSDPSRV, SstpSvc,
W32Time, WebClient
svchost.exe 1460 CryptSvc, Dnscache, KtmRm, NlaSvc, TapiSrv,
TermService
svchost.exe 1992 BFE, DPS, MpsSvc
svchost.exe 868 AppHostSvc
svchost.exe 2076 BthServ
svchost.exe 3284 PolicyAgent
svchost.exe 4020 stisvc
svchost.exe 4056 W3SVC, WAS
svchost.exe 4080 WerSvc
svchost.exe 5692 AeLookupSvc, BITS, Browser, EapHost,
IKEEXT, iphlpsvc, LanmanServer, MMCSS,
ProfSvc, RasMan, Schedule, seclogon, SENS,
ShellHWDetection, Themes, Winmgmt
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
1,936
The svchost.exe file is a Windows program that is uses to run dll files. Invariably, the dll is from a third-party driver. A long time ago, when Vista first came out, this was a common problem. (The solution was that the third-party software and hardware manufacturers update their drivers to work with Vista. Clearly this hasn't been completed yet.)

Also, you might want to try and update your copy of Vista to SP1. This includes at least one update to reduce the problem. The hotfix was included on Microsoft's site, but never included in an update until SP1.

Courtney
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2
i courtneyc thanks for the reply, well rite now i am using windows vista home edition, if i upgrade to windows business edition, will that solve this problem
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It's usually best to start new threads for these problems rather than piggyback old ones.

I can't tell what the culprit might be -- but if the problem is happening regularly I would try "clean boot" testing.

Run msconfig and select the "Services" tab. Check "Hide Microsoft Services" and then disable the rest. Also uncheck "load startup group" on the general page.

See this link for detailed information:


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135 << for Vista, but applies equally to XP, and better written.

Now restart and test the issue at hand

If no problems, run msconfig and recheck half the disabled items on the Services tab. Test again. If the problem recurs, UNcheck half the items you just checked to narrow down the culprit.

If the problem didn't occur, check the other half, so all the Services are enabled -- proceed to do this on the startup tab as well.

Get the idea? You want to isolate the problem to a specific startup if possible.

Note: if you already have items unchecked under msconfig > startups and are in &#8220;selective&#8221; startup mode &#8211; you should note what these are before beginning. They will need to be de-selected again.

> This looks suspicious right here: svchost.exe 1040 WinDefend > http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/windefend-21842.html
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top