1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hosting MOHAA

Discussion in 'Games' started by mike12975, Feb 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mike12975

    mike12975 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I've been trying to host MOH but my friend is unable to connect to me.

    I have a home network with both computers running Windows XP Home, 2 ghz cpu, and 512 mb of ram. I have a Linksys 4 port router and and a 5667(i think) Speedstream DSL modem. I've tried port forwarding on both of them but I still can't get it to work.

    The Linksys is real simple to use so I think I'm doing it right for it. I think the Speedstream is what's messing me up. Can anyone look at this garbled mess I've wrote down and maybe shed some light on this for me? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. ***ROPAK***

    ***ROPAK***

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    If all else fails go DMZ host while setting up a server for games. This will open all ports on your puter. DOnt leave it like this all the time though.
     
  3. mike12975

    mike12975 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    I tried DMZ hosting and it didn't work. I tried opening the same ports on both the Linksys and the Speedstream but that didnt work either. I just don't know what to do. It's very possible I'm missing something since I have no idea what I'm doing. :)
     
  4. ***ROPAK***

    ***ROPAK***

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    What IP are you giving other users? YOur Lan IP or your WAN IP?

    Always give you Wan IP. NOt 198.162.1.100 The last three may vary depending on your setup.
     
  5. mike12975

    mike12975 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    We tried my WAN IP, still nadda. We were trying the wrong IP addresses at one point until I found in my speedstream setup where it told what my WAN ip was. Like I said though, still doesn't work.

    It says my LAN ip 192.168.254.254 while when I run ipconfig from the cmd window, it says my computers ip is the one you mentioned 192.168.1.100. Of course my WAN ip is completely different 190.etc.etc. Don't know if any of that is relevant or not.
     
  6. exocet

    exocet

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Do not use port forwarding. Instead, try using Port triggering, which can be found on the same screen as port forwarding in your router's configuration page. You already know which ports to open, correct?

    Once that is done correctly, your friend will be using your WAN IP address to connect to your server. Goodluck!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Hosting MOHAA
  1. HostileSkipper
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    201
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117349

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice