1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hotmail Problem

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dante56, Jan 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Hi
    On one of my computers I cannot get into hotmail I type in www.hotmail.com and it just goes to a blank screen and says done. It seems to work perfectly on other sites just not on hotmail.
    Any Ideas????

    Ryan
     
  2. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    Have you deleted all your temporary internet files? Also, make sure your browser is set to check for newer versions of the page on every visit.

    In Internet Explorer, Click TOOLS --> INTERNET OPTIONS --> click the buttons "DELELETE FILES" and "DELETE COOKIES" to clear out your temp folder. After doing this, look for the button labeled "SETTINGS" and select "EVERY VISIT TO THE PAGE""

    Click OK and then shut down Ineternet Explorer and restart it.


    Rollin
     
  3. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    No That hasnt done it
    I can get to the main windows were i type in my email and password but when I click sign in it just goes white and says done on the status bar
     
  4. JayT

    JayT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Hotmail does that sometimes. I think it has something to do with their updating the site. Usually,when it happens to me I hit the back button and retry. Or, alternatively, you can log into www.msn.com with your user name and password and then click on Hotmail, and it should open.
     
  5. The-Stranger

    The-Stranger

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    are u running protowall or peer guardian or such like
    or firewall blocking

    but i agree hotmail can be pants at time for no particular reason
     
  6. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Hi
    it works perfectly in mozilla Firefox but not in internet explorer why is this???
    also how do I uninstall IE as it isnt in the add/remove progs list and when i download internet explorer service pack one all it says is there is a Newer version already on the Computer.
    So I want to Reinstall IE how would I go about this???
    Thanks
    Ryan
     
  7. JayT

    JayT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    688
  8. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    How exactly do you
    "change the value data from one to 0"

    Ive located the right file in the registry now what do I do????
    Ryan
     
  9. The-Stranger

    The-Stranger

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    ususally double click the value then enter new one
     
  10. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Hi
    Ive modified the registry from 1 to 0 and it still says ithas detected newer updates installed and must now quit
    any thing else I'm supposed to do
     
  11. JayT

    JayT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Do, you have Sp2 installed? If so, you would have to uninstall that before you could re-install IE SP1.
     
  12. dante56

    dante56 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    No i dont think so
     
  13. JayT

    JayT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Did you navigate to this key?

    In the Open box, type regedit, and then click OK.
    3. Locate the appropriate registry subkey, right-click the IsInstalled (REG_DWORD) value, and then click Modify.

    To reinstall only the Internet Explorer 6 browser component on Windows XP, use the following registry key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

    And then do this?

    Change the value data from 1 to 0, and then click OK.

    Sometimes (though not always) it helps to reboot the computer after changing a key in the registry.

    If you have done all of this, there is no reason you can't re-install IE 6 -SP1.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322517

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice