1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How 2 import text data into Excel from scanned text file ?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by anothrnub, Sep 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. anothrnub

anothrnub Thread Starter

Good morning / Good afternoon
    As a newbie I am making the first posting on your forum and I hope it is not a silly question.

I received a hard print of an excel spreadsheet with data in 9 columns (2 date formatted and 6 number formatted) of figures from my by bank and I wish 2 use them for further calculation. As I didn't get an electronic file from the bank I scanned the data sheet on the HP Scanner into text files ( rich text, plain text etc) and attempted to import the text into Excel; but I was unsuccessful. Have I attempted the impossible or did I do something wrong ?

If it is possible to do so how should I proceed ?
    With thanks, anothernub

2. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Hi,

If you have it as a text file, go to Data -> Import Data -> browse to file, import. You should be taken to the Text To Columns dialogue box where you can set the parameters of the import. Or you can upload the text file, if you'd rather.

3. anothrnub

anothrnub Thread Starter

firefytr ty f y msge.
    The data ->import data -> browse exercise is not working with my Rich Text or JPG files. I do not have plain text file because I am unable to save the scanned screen on plain text format. R U able to guide me on upload text file option ? Anyother alternatives ?
    regards. anothrnub

4. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Sure, when you hit post reply, click the manage attachments button. Browse to your file then be sure and hit the Upload button. Then just hit submit post.

5. anothrnub

anothrnub Thread Starter