How best to reinstall Windows 10

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OM2

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
978
I have a Lenovo X201.
It's gone funny.
I reset Windows - just wiping data.
No luck.

I then completely reset.
Still no good.
I get different errors.
The current one displayed says runtimebroker.exe error.

Typically what happens is that I can login. But the system thereafter is non responsive. I get a black screen. The mouse pointer can be seen. The keyboard doesn't really respond. Caps lock key turns on and off when pressed.

I'm guessing the hard disk is corrupt. What's the best way to go forward from here?

How do I format?

Or should I back up using acronis and restore on a new hard drive?

Thanks.
 

OM2

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
978
Thanks
Running now
I was hesitant to run yesterday as it said 1% would take 1 minute!
I think it's a 240GB or 500GB hard drive!
Oh well.
I'll run.
I assume errors will be fixed?
Or maybe not? If not, then could take days if I have to come back and approve fixing?

Wondering if there is an auto fix all errors option?
I'm running the HD diagnostic option I have seen in BIOS setup.
Let me know if you can suggest anything.

Thanks.
 

OM2

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
978
Ok...
I'm running
Has been running for 10 minutes

It says:

Pass: Controller Diag
Error code 0000: Read verification failed

+ it's been on zero percent and doesn't seem to be moving.

Shall I leave running overnight ?
Or will it stay at zero percent?

Thanks
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,309
First Name
Terry
I can move this thread back to Windows 10, but think that Hardware is better for now.


Pass: Controller Diag
Error code 0000: Read verification failed
Sounds bad to me, but I'm just guessing. Maybe see if you can find anything helpful about the error code on HP's site?


Shall I leave running overnight ?
Or will it stay at zero percent?
I can't even make a guess for either question.
 

OM2

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
978
Darn it

Why HP?
The hard drive is a Hitachi one

Thanks

EDIT: it's stopped now. It says "Call for service - or the guys at TechGuy Forum"
OK... joking... it just says "Call for service"

Any suggestions?
I'm assuming the restore partition is OK.
If I use Acronis to copy, all is OK?

Let me know what you guys think.
 
Last edited:

dvk01

Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
First Name
Derek
that error is often a loose memory chip according to lenovo forums, so best simple fix initially is remove & reseat the memory & see if that cures it
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top