1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can I block users from going on the internet?

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by mzancz, Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mzancz

    mzancz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    We have recently implemented Windows Server 2003, and have been using group policies to make our network more secure. We want to be able to block a dept. from being able to go on to the internet. I wanted to use group policy to do this, I found alot of settings but not the one I want. Any sugestions, or is there another way?
    Thanks
     
  2. AKA Arizona

    AKA Arizona

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,905
    Tell me a little more about how you have things setup i.e. how the group access the internet, how they access the intranet & what OS do the work stations use.
     
  3. mzancz

    mzancz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    The workstations are Windows 2000 Professional. They access the internet by just clicking on the IE icon on the desktop, or the start menu. We do not go through a proxy server or anyting like that. I know I can hide these but I wanted a better way. We don't have an intranet in use. Let me know if I can provide any more information
     
  4. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    My thought on this is that you should have a firewall and with this firewall you can block a range of IP addresses.
     
  5. mzancz

    mzancz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    True, we do have a firewall. But the clients are DHCP, so their addresses are always changing. The only way to block them would be to give them reserved addresses then.
     
  6. AKA Arizona

    AKA Arizona

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,905
    That would be the best way to control the stations, set you station's with static IP's and then restrict there access with the firewall...... :cool:
     
  7. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    Maybe you can block by client host name.
     
  8. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Set a group policy to assign this group a "proxy server", and lock the settings so they can't be changed. This way, any attempt to get online will go through the "proxy server" (that doesn't exist), and fail to get online.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326334

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice