How can I block users from going on the internet?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mzancz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
6
We have recently implemented Windows Server 2003, and have been using group policies to make our network more secure. We want to be able to block a dept. from being able to go on to the internet. I wanted to use group policy to do this, I found alot of settings but not the one I want. Any sugestions, or is there another way?
Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
2,905
Tell me a little more about how you have things setup i.e. how the group access the internet, how they access the intranet & what OS do the work stations use.
 

mzancz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
6
The workstations are Windows 2000 Professional. They access the internet by just clicking on the IE icon on the desktop, or the start menu. We do not go through a proxy server or anyting like that. I know I can hide these but I wanted a better way. We don't have an intranet in use. Let me know if I can provide any more information
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
623
My thought on this is that you should have a firewall and with this firewall you can block a range of IP addresses.
 

mzancz

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
6
True, we do have a firewall. But the clients are DHCP, so their addresses are always changing. The only way to block them would be to give them reserved addresses then.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
2,905
That would be the best way to control the stations, set you station's with static IP's and then restrict there access with the firewall...... :cool:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
623
mzancz said:
True, we do have a firewall. But the clients are DHCP, so their addresses are always changing. The only way to block them would be to give them reserved addresses then.
Maybe you can block by client host name.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
Set a group policy to assign this group a "proxy server", and lock the settings so they can't be changed. This way, any attempt to get online will go through the "proxy server" (that doesn't exist), and fail to get online.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top