1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can I completley dump my computer?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Forbidden5, Feb 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    I've been trying to figure this out, and when I called Dell, they wouldn't help me at all. So i turned to you guys, since you guys are awesome. ;)

    I just wanna dump it completely, then after, reinstall my Windows Application.

    Thanks,
    Forbidden5
     
  2. dan_mccartney

    dan_mccartney

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    318
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    How will you re-install Windows? Do you have an OS CD?
     
  4. Dell_CA

    Dell_CA Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Hello,

    My name is Mike, I’m a Technical Analyst at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products. I read your question and wanted to offer some help.

    I’m sorry to hear that support couldn’t help you with this. I’m unsure why they wouldn’t, but here is a guide to help you through it. Hopefully it will answer all of your questions.

    Thank you,

    Mike
    Dell customer advocate
     
  5. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Thank you Mike, but honestly this is just helping if something was wrong with the computer.. Just need to start over, and yes it's also helpful to reinstall windows haha.


    Do I have to pay for it..? Cause it says about $30.. but what would it do exactly?

    I think I might have the CD, but this is all for my brother's computer.. I've had a problem with it not to long ago, but now he's in the progress of actually having a good purpose for the computer, and we just need to delete everything and start over.
     
  6. dan_mccartney

    dan_mccartney

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Okay, I'm sorry. I misunderstood you. I thought you wanted to clean everything up. I know you wanted to do the files and stuff, but I thought you meant get rid of everything like you were going to sell it. Okay. If you have the OS CD, all you need to do is put the disc in and reboot. Then follow the onscreen directions. That will delete everything and reinstall windows.
     
  7. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Wow, it's that easy?
    Sheesh lmao.
    I'll try it, and respond as fast as I can.
    Thank you very much, dan_mccartney :)
     
  8. dan_mccartney

    dan_mccartney

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    You are so welcome. Look forward to hearing from you.
     
  9. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Meh.. of course, nothing could be that easy lol.
    I put it in, but of course my brother lost the case of it, so I don't have a product key. :(
     
  10. muppy03

    muppy03 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,879
    If you are doing a CLEAN INSTALL (where you lose all your files if not saved outside the comp) you need the dell windows recovery cd and the drivers and utility cd which are supplied with your computer. Reboot your computer and hit f12 this will bring you to a once only boot screen where you will choose the 'boot from cdrom choice' (make sure the windows recovery cd is in the drive). You must boot from the cd if you want the clean install, DO NOT load windows then try running the CD.
     
  11. muppy03

    muppy03 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,879

    If you are using the Dell recovery that came with the comp and booting from cd then it shouldnt ask for a cd key as they are supplied pre activated. If it does ask for one its usually on a sticker on the side or back of the machine. When running an upgrade or repair then it asks for one. The upgrade or repair wont give you the 'brand new sysytem' tho.
     
  12. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Oh yeah, that's right.. It did say upgrade if my memory serves me correctly.
    And Honestly, we're not to much of organized people, so I don't really thinkg I know where the cd's and everything are...
    This is the exact CD I have, found in google images.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Forbidden5

    Forbidden5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    So what should I do..?
     
  14. dan_mccartney

    dan_mccartney

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Well, I would look for either those CD's or for your case that the CD came in. If not you may need to buy XP again.
     
  15. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    assuming that if your copy of windows is legal and has been activated previously heres one thing u can try to get the key for your particular computer. its called magical key finder by magic jellybean. i had to use it on a computer i bought used that didnt come with anything at all it was a temporary fix however and i had to end up going to a computer store and they burned me a legal copy of windows xp pro sp2 for 40 dollars. hope this helps u since u do have a cd. i didnt have anything.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/679082