1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can I connect audio to my TV?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by slightlysteve, Jan 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slightlysteve

    slightlysteve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi there,

    My aim is to project image from my MacBook onto the TV following this method... http://www.wikihow.com/Connect-a-Macbook-Pro-to-a-TV

    I'm using a DVI-HDMI adapter, and that means it won't carry the audio. So I'm getting a separate cable to connect audio to the back of the TV, a 3.5 mm to 3 RCA AV Audio cable.

    This method states "When connecting the audio to your TV, you may need to change the settings on your TV... Change the audio settings from digital to video to get your audio up and working."

    However I'm struggling to find the option to change the audio settings from digital to video on the TV... it's a Sabre brand TV.

    I've looked everywhere online for a Sabre TV manual but no dice. Can anyone tell me how I can change the audio settings?

    Thank you!

    Steve
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what are the 3 RCA inputs on the back of the TV labelled as
    Probably two of them maybe Audio OUT rather than IN

    i suspect when you switch to HDMI the TV is expecting to get the audio from the HDMI input
    whats the exact model of the TV
     
  3. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,887
    First Name:
    Jim
    Not all TV's allow you to select mixed inputs (ie: video on one input, audio on a different input).

    As noted, the brand/model information would be helpful. Or you can refer to the User Manual.
     
  4. slightlysteve

    slightlysteve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hi again!

    The brand is Sabre and the model number is LCT47PBKA.

    I've also attached a photo of the back of the TV.

    Thank you!

    Steve
     

    Attached Files:

  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i cant read the image - can we have a better readable shot please

    i cant find a user manual online

    i suspect they are audio on for whatever the 3rd RCA says
    or for the component video for the two Y PB PR
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141222

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice