1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can I delete amd64 folders - Losing Hard Drive space

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Masterkaga, Jan 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Masterkaga

Masterkaga Thread Starter

Hello, I'm a newbie here. I have a baffling problem with my PC.

Beforehand I would like to apologize for this post because I have been up all night fighting with my computer. If it comes out strange, then I'm sorry.

I started noticing that my hard drive space was vanishing. I checked my system restore files and they were fine. I checked my paging settings and they were low. I ran TreeSize to find where my space went and I found a file in the Windows folder named winsxs that was holding 15,000 small folders totaling 16.8GB (!).

I ran cCleaner and it didn't detect the batch of bad files. I ran Windows Disk Cleanup and it didn't delete them either.

I can't delete them manually either. If you try to, they say: "You need permission to perform this action. You require permission from TrustedInstaller to make changes to this folder." As far as I know TrustedInstaller is from Windows, right?

But I didn't trust that so I ran virus protection programs. I scanned with my McAfee, IoBit and Malwarebytes. They found very superficial things but nothing that looked too dangerous.

The 16,000 files say amd64 on them. Does anyone know what I can try to delete these files and regain my hard drive space?

P.S. I had a very, very strange episode where I was deleting programs that I didn't need and was shocked to see that "OpenOffice" program was taking up 45GBs of space ??? I deleted it and that space did NOT come back. It sounds like a registry error or ten.