How can i get into msconfig?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
I did something to my comp that broke it and i think it was in msconfig. I posted about it before at
http://forums.techguy.org/t115016/s.html

Now the problem is when i go to "run" and type in "msconfig" it says it can't find "Msconfig". Is there another way to get to it or something...please help.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2002
Messages
8
If you are running an other than WinXp, go to DOS (start/programs/accessories/MS Dos prompt), type msconfig <, see whats happen, To get out of dos, type "exit" (no the " ")
Good Luck!
Jose
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, Windows 2000 doesn't have MSCONFIG, so it would be helpful to know what O/S you're running. There are lots of 3rd party solutions, even TweakUI from Microsoft.
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
Oh i thought i said... Its windows xp upgraded from windows me.

Its thecommand prompt and it said it was a unrecognized command or something.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Try going to Start > Run and type in "sfc /scannow" without the quotes. Click OK, you may need your Win XP cd. This should fix any files that are corupt or damaged.
Del
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
If it doesn't work, let us know and we try something else. Such is the nature of the BEAST.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
The one from ME won't work, even when upgrading. It is an entirely different program. The one from XP works just fine. Have used it on quite a few workstations and servers.
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
Del, the scan asked for XP professional cd and i have home edition. The link to msconfig was what i needed, i enabled all the services and now i have my sound back. Thanks a lot.
 

BumontheRun

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Messages
180
Actually now i need drivers for the printer. It never came with drivers because it said the OS should have it. The printer is a HP deskjet 3320.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top