How can I get rid of the Linksys Wireless Network Adapter?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sief9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
44
After installing the driver for my Linksys wireless thing, sorry I don't know what to call it. :p Basically the antenna on the back of my computer that gives it wireless internet.

So anyways, it came with a program called "Linksys Wireless-G PCI Network Adapter with Speed Booster". And it always starts up and freezes whenever it starts. It's really annoying, im using the Windows Wireless program. But it still pops up whenever I start up my computer.

How do I get rid of it? Because when I try to uninstall it, it uninstalls the driver for my wireless.

---------------------------------

Computer Specs:
* System:

  • Microsoft Windows XP
  • Professional
  • Version 2002
  • Service Pack 3
* Computer:

  • Intel(R)
  • Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
  • 2.79 GHz, 2.00 GB of RAM
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,509
Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG and then click OK - "Startup" tab.

If there are any startup entries for the Linksys adapter, uncheck them, apply the change, then restart.

See if that helps.

If you want to research the Linksys startup entries before you disable them, this site will assist you.

------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Sief9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
44
Click Start - Run, type in MSCONFIG and then click OK - "Startup" tab.

If there are any startup entries for the Linksys adapter, uncheck them, apply the change, then restart.

See if that helps.

If you want to research the Linksys startup entries before you disable them, this site will assist you.

------------------------------------------------------------------
I tried that, there's nothing there that I know of.
Here are what shows up checked (Startup Item):
- imontray
- SFIGUI
- NvCpl
- NvMcTray
- NULL
- bdagent
- IEShow
- ctfmon
Do you have any idea what it could be? :confused:
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
I don't know about the Linksys utility, but sometimes they run simply because of a shortcut icon in your Startup Folder. So that's the first place to check because you can simply delete it from there or drag it to your desktop in case you want it handy for future use.

If that and the msconfig Startups don't reveal it check in Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services for a service with "Linksys" in the name. If you find one, set its Startup Type to 'disabled' and Stop it.
 

Sief9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
44
I don't know about the Linksys utility, but sometimes they run simply because of a shortcut icon in your Startup Folder. So that's the first place to check because you can simply delete it from there or drag it to your desktop in case you want it handy for future use.

If that and the msconfig Startups don't reveal it check in Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services for a service with "Linksys" in the name. If you find one, set its Startup Type to 'disabled' and Stop it.
There's nothing in my startup folder, and there's nothing there that's called "linksys". :(

I might try disabling "NULL" in msconfig from starting up, but I'm afraid it'll mess up my computer or something. Ideas?
 
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
730
You should be able to uninstall the software in add / remove programs and the driver will still be installed and functional.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,509
I've researched the list of startup entries that you've posted and have included a link to each of them, except for one.

imontray

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=imontray

SFIGUI

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=SFIGUI

NvCpl

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=NvCpl

NvMcTray

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=NvMcTray

NULL (Not listed in database)

bdagent

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=bdagent

IEShow

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=IEShow

ctfmon

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=ctfmon

As far as I can tell, the bottom 3 startup entries(bdagent, IEShow, ctfmon) are the only ones that need to remain checked and enabled. The others can be unchecked and disabled.

Also, click Start - Run, type in SERVICES.MSC, click OK, expand the Services window, change the setting of NVIDIA Driver Helper Service from "Automatic" to "Manual", then apply the change.

Make the change here before you make the above changes in MSCONFIG.

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

Sief9

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 2, 2008
Messages
44
I've researched the list of startup entries that you've posted and have included a link to each of them, except for one.

imontray

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=imontray

SFIGUI

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=SFIGUI

NvCpl

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=NvCpl

NvMcTray

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=NvMcTray

NULL (Not listed in database)

bdagent

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=bdagent

IEShow

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=IEShow

ctfmon

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=ctfmon

As far as I can tell, the bottom 3 startup entries(bdagent, IEShow, ctfmon) are the only ones that need to remain checked and enabled. The others can be unchecked and disabled.

Also, click Start - Run, type in SERVICES.MSC, click OK, expand the Services window, change the setting of NVIDIA Driver Helper Service from "Automatic" to "Manual", then apply the change.

Make the change here before you make the above changes in MSCONFIG.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Alright thanks! I disable the Nv... ones, because the rest I actually need to start up. And I didn't find the NVIDIA Driver Helper Service but I did find something called NVIDIA Display Driver Service, is that it?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,509
Yep, that's the one. I sometimes forget exactly how it's named. Change it to "Manual".

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top