1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can i permanently remove the this 'use automatic configuration script'?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by CJDavis, May 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CJDavis

    CJDavis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    14
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Go to Start > Run, and type Regedit.

    Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings.

    Click 'Internet Settings' once in order to display it's contents in the right hand pane.

    Tell us whether the following values are there, and what they say:

    ProxyEnable
    ProxyHttp
    ProxyServer
     
  3. CJDavis

    CJDavis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Hi again

    These are the following values and what they say:

    ProxyEnable 0x00000000(0)
    ProxyHttp1.1 0x00000000(1)

    For some reason Proxy Server is not there however there is a value with this:

    AutoConfigURL ...and that proxy marketscore address.

    Should i delete this?

    Many thanks

    AOL 7.0
    IE 5.5
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Absolutely.

    Delete the entire AutoConfigUrl value in the right pane.

    Tell us whether your Connection settings stick this time.
     
  5. CJDavis

    CJDavis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    It is still there under Use Automatic Cinfiguration Script

    i really dont' know what to do!

    It is as if the file or program is indesctructable. If i ever you modify the regedit is it best to shut down and restart or it doesnt matter?

    I actually went to the proxy address and i got a download program starter file.

    Please, please help!

    Regards
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Go to edit > find in Regedit, and do a keyword search for 'Marketscore'

    After the first hit, click F3 to find a possible next instance.

    Anything come up?

    Also, there may possibly be a restriction in place.

    Examine the following regsiry subkeys:

    HKEY_USERS\.Default\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel
    and
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

    If you have one or both of those subkeys that already points to restrictions being set.

    If you find any of them, examine the contents.
    There might be a 'proxy' value in the right pane which causes this.

    The entire Subkey 'Control Panel (only if found at exactly those locations, of course) can be removed.

    Tell us what you find.
     
  7. CJDavis

    CJDavis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Well, basically after pressing F3 i found all these marketscore files under the following areas:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Sofware\Netsetter\Netsetter\Settings
    HKEY_USERS.\DEFAULT\Sofware\Netsetter\Netsetter\Setings
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Sofware\Microsoft\CodestoreDatabase\Distribution Units...

    I also found HKEY_USERS.\DEFAULT\Software\Netsetter\Setings\OSSProxy\Settings

    is it necessary for me to list every single file name to you ?

    Regards
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    The HKEY_USERS.\DEFAULT\Sofware\Netsetter and HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Sofware\Netsetter keys can be deleted in their entirety.

    The Distribution Units entry is interesting, as it points to Marketscore having installed an ActiveX object in Downloaded Program Files.

    Go to Internet Options/General Tab > settings > show objects.
    Tell us what you see there.

    Eventually, the Marketscore ActiveX needs to be removed, as will the registry entry containing 'Marketscore'
     
  9. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Two other things:

    Did you find the two 'Control Panel' subkeys at the location I specified?

    And download <A HREF="http://www.extremetech.com/article/0,3396,s=1046&a=1066,00.asp?download_url=http://common.ziffdavisinternet.com/download/0/1023/bhocop.zip&login=1&r=0">BHO Cop</A>

    It detects Browser Helper Objects of the kind MarketScore may have installed as well.

    Just activate the program, and tell us what BHO's it detects.
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    You just told me in a PM you deleted the three registry keys.

    Please continue to post your progress here at the board so that we can all see how you're getting on.

    Be sure to check your downloaded program files and run BHO cop as well.
     
  11. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
  12. CJDavis

    CJDavis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    OK, so far, under LAN settings the proxy address has gone -HOORAY!!

    But not in dial-up settings!

    However, i have so far removed the activex file (ns Browser which appeared to be damaged - 96KB)

    I have also removed the two languages thanks Mosaic1, but still doing the Control Panel thing Tony!

    Hopefully it will be cleared soon!

    Thanks again
     
  13. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Are you still cleaning uot the registry? I would suggest at this point that youDownload and install ADAware. Run it and make a backup in the event of a problem. Also do a deep scan. Look at the log to see what is has found. Make that backup as already stated.

    Maybe it will find the remnants. I am not sure, but it might, I also know that Ad-aware recommends it be run twice with a reboot in between to totally remove some problems.

    If you want to try it here's the link:
    Download the newest version 5.81 If you have an older version of Ad-aware, remove it before installing the newest. Also Download and install the refupdate addon. This will check for updates and will keep you updated.

    http://www.lsfileserv.com/
     
  14. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    I have been reading a bit more and do not think ADAware will do it for you.
    Did you install this on purpose?


    Did you install this on purpose?

    This is from their Faq page.



    What if I don't want to be a Marketscore member anymore?


    Although we would hate to see you go, we realize there might be reasons you need to stop being a Marketscore member. If that is the case, simply login to the Marketscore membersÂ’ section by going to www.Marketscore.com then clicking on the 'Members' link and entering your email and password. Once you have logged in, click on the 'Modify or Remove Services' link. There you will find instructions on how to deactivate your membership and unconfigure. (Please note: to avoid disrupting any of your other computer settings, please DO NOT attempt to adjust the settings yourself; instead, please go through the membersÂ’ section as described in this paragraph). If you are having problems removing Marketscore, please click here for Marketscore support information. Before you remove Marketscore, please take a moment to let us know why you are leaving so that we can continue to improve our services.

    https://www.marketscore.com/e/faq.asp

    Sorry about all the edits. I had a miserable time with the url. Hope it takes this time.
     
  15. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    CJDavis PM'd me a while ago to say that it is finally gone . I am not sure what finally worked. I am waiting to hear.

    This is one nasty Program.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/79820