How can I play this game? (a problem with my video card)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
33
Hi guys

I bought my laptop 4 months ago. It works with AMD Turion 64
Recently, I bought Fifa 2006, but it did not work with my system.
In the" technical support" it says that the minimum requirement of the display memory is 32, but I have 16.

My video card details is:

Name: SiS M760/760GX
Manufacturer: SiS
Chip Type : SiS 760 Rev 00
DAC Type: Internal
Approx. Total Memory: 32 MB
Current Display Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)


What can I do to play that game? Can I develop or change my video card?

Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
533
Your onboard graphics card simply can't handle that game, you will need to upgrade your graphics card . . .

I've never put a graphics card in a laptop, so I'm no help there, sorry :/
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,058
Some machines you can, but what strikes me is that you have a newer machine with only 16MB?

Doesn't sound right. What is your make and model?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,058
where aer you seeing the 16Mb?

Also what is your RAM capacity showing in DirectX and My Computer Properties?
 

jimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
33
After inserting CD1 of the game a window will pop up, on this window there are install, technical support,and some other options. I intalled the game but the graphic was very bad, so i clicked on the technical support and there was where it says that my "display memory" is 16 but the required is 32!

I don't know if it is 16 bit or 16 Mb!
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
12,638
That sounds like colour-depth, not memory.

Some video games have trouble on laptop cards, as DirectX isn't supported properly - often the sysreqs will say "Mobile versions of these cards not supported".
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,058
Yeah... the physical memory (RAM) is being used for your video. And like JEB mentioned, you need to change the display color bit to 32-bit.

Worth a shot. Majority of laptops are not really designed for gaming, but there are a few that are.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
12,638
Also, make sure you have the latest drivers for your video card and chipset installed. Never hurts to have as many things as possible in your favour. :)
 

jimo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
33
the display color is 32 bit.

I tried to update my video card's driver from its website and it searched for my driver through my system. In the end, many drivers were available for download:
Graphics (SiS Mirage2 Graphics),
AGP (SiS Acceleration Graphic Port),
IDE (SiS IDE Controller),
USB (USB 1.1 / USB 2.0),
Audio (SiS 7012 Audio Controller),
and LAN (SiS 900 Fast Ethernet Controller)

Should I download all of them?

When I clicked on the graphic drivers, there was an Agreement which made me step back and hesitate to download. The agreement stats that, "SiS does not guarantee the proper functionality of these drivers on your customized systems and we assume no responsibility for any problems occur upon the installation of SiS drivers."

Do you think it is ok to download them?

Thanks and sorry for the trouble
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
12,638
If those are from the manufacturer's website, I'd say definitely. If they're third-party drivers, google around a bit.

Have you added/changed/upgraded any hardware inside the machine? If not, everything should be as it was originally, and the drivers should work fine.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
114
They help partially , I run FIFA 2006on my XP SP1 , not nescessarily SP 2....

What version of DirectX are you running?? Go to Start>RUN> type dxdiag , and post which version youre running..

try downloading the latest versions of DirectX from/through windows updates or from www.microsoft.com
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,058
I wouldn't trust getting drivers for devices from Microsoft / Windows Updates because they tend to be generic and may make your devices fail. Always update your drivers from the manufacturer's website.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top