1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How can I remove a program with no uninstall?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by vicki_nb, Sep 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vicki_nb

vicki_nb Thread Starter

I have a Xerox M940 printer/scanner/copier and I'm running it with XP which it is not compaitable with. I've been using with XP for about 8 months and never have a problem using with it. Except I get a popup everytime I restart my computer and telling me that I have new hardware.

Soooo.....I go to the Xerox site and they have a driver for XP or so it says. Come to find out there is NO driver for Windows XP. I tried to use it but it didn't work. Anyways, now I have screwed something up and I need to uninstall it and reinstall.

Problem is, I'm getting an error message saying that it's missing the unist.isu and cannot unistall half of it. (I'm sure this is something that I have screwed up) I can't reinstall the printer until I completely uninstall the program.

So, how can I uninstall this program without using the add/remove hardware program?

2. BillC

BillC

If it does not have an uninstaller and you can't use Add/Remove you might need to get the manual instructions from the vendor.

However, have you thought about using system restore in XP to a point before you ran into this problem? I find that system restore is very helpful in undoing my screw ups. :)

3. Seb7

Seb7

Not easily..!!! Three options...

1. As above, use XPs restore feature, (as long it hasnt been disabled)

2. Instead of uninstall, reinstall; do install, uninstall, reinstall. - often works.