How can I temporarily disable anti-virus?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
No, I don't need that. I want you to go to the Device Manager and check what is shown under the Network adapters section. See instructions in my previous post.
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
312
Sorry, you've got me a bit confused. My Start menu is on the bottom left of my screen. I looked on the bottom right, and took a screen shot of the only thing that mentions network. When I look at the Start menu in the bottom left corner, there is a section called Devices and Printers but there is nothing on that screen that mentions Network Adaptor. Can you explain it any better or differently?
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
312
I think I've got this solved. Went looking online and it explained that Device Manager is in Control panel. I think this is what you want...

DEVICE MANAGER.png
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
Yes!

That is what I wanted! Actually I forgot that you have Windows 7, that's why my instructions confused you. :)

It seems that Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter has a problem. Your logs show that the device cannot start. Right click on it and check for updates. Let me know if updates are found and installed.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
Try removing the Teredo adapter (right click, Uninstall), then reboot and see in the Device manager if there is still a yellow triangle beside it.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
The error was also shown in your logs.

Well, I’ll leave it here for now and be back to you tomorrow.
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
312
Right-clicked and Uninstalled. Restarted. Tunnelling adaptor now no longer appears under Network Adaptors
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
312
Yes, I can. I sometimes get a "You're not connected to a network" message the first time. But, successive attempts, I can get in.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
Right-clicked and Uninstalled. Restarted. Tunnelling adaptor now no longer appears under Network Adaptors
Make sure you are connected to the internet when you check about Microsoft Tunnelling Adaptor in the Device Manager.

If you see it,
please uninstall it once more and without restarting, follow the instructions below to re-install Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter.

If you don't see it, please follow the instructions below to install Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter.

Install Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter
  • Press Windows key + R to open Run dialog.
  • Type hdwwiz.cpl, and then press Enter to open Device Manager.
  • Click on Network Adapters from the list.
  • Click on Actions tab at the top.
  • Select Add Legacy Hardware.
  • Click on Next button.
  • Make sure that Search for and install the hardware automatically (Recommended) option is selected, and then click on Next button.
  • Click on Next button again.
  • Under Common hardware types selection, look for Network Adapters and click on it.
  • Click on Next button.
  • Under Manufacturer column, select Microsoft.
  • Under Network Adapter column, select Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter
  • Click on Next button.
  • Click on Next button again.
  • Click on Finish.

    Let me know if you can now see Microsoft Teredo Tunnelling Adapter without any error.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,394
Hm...
  • Press Windows icon on your Desktop, together with the letter R.
  • Type cmd, and press Ctrl + Shift + Enter to run Command Prompt as administrator.
  • Copy and paste the following command lines, one by one, and press Enter after each to execute them:
Code:
netsh
int  teredo
set  state  disabled
int  ipv6
set  teredo  client
exit
  • When the commands completed successfully, close cmd.
  • Restart the computer, and check the Teredo status again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top