How can I temporarily disable anti-virus?

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,212
Can you give me an example of a video you try to watch?
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
Okay, here's one. It played for about two minutes and then froze and began loading

 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
kenneth7379

I have asked for the thread to be moved back to Windows 7 forum
I will then continue to try and solve the issue for you
I suspect it is a driver problem on the Intel ethernet controller
OR possibly a configuration problem on the setup for that network adapter

I have signed off for the night but will be back about 1900hrs UK time
 
Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
Sorry I am later than intended to the issue, commitments at home is the cause.
Please could you could go to your network adapter via network and sharing centre
right click the network icon on the taskbar and then left click network and sharing centre
when that opens click change adapter settings
then right click the intel ethernet icon
click properties

see my screenshot
are both TCP/IPv4 and PCP IPv6 check marked
If so uncheck TCP/IPv6 and click OK

Go back to that window and
now click the confgure button on that window below the intel adpater and then click the driver tab
tell me please the provider driver date and driver version
You may type it or send a screenshot.

Now click the power management tab on that window and if allow computer to turn of power is checked uncheck it.
and exit out of that

Now go back to the original window as per my screenshot and select the TCP/IPv4 and click the properties button
confirm that obtain IP address and DNS server are both checked for automatically

When you have done that we will proceed to the next step as necessary for the driver.

Test the connection again please and the youtube video

Untitled.jpgUntitled.jpg
 
Last edited:

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
I have switched to Windows 7 for you on my other computer
better screenshots for youUntitled.jpg
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
Okay, I'm working on this. My printer is out of ink, so I'm trying to follow your directions directly off the web page. However, once I unclick IPv4 and IPv6, I lose the web page, so I'm having to click and reset it every time I need to work on it and then refer to directions. This is going to take longer than I anticipated.
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
Okay, I've completed that step. My network connection is confirmed, and the You Tube video seems to be playing okay.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
Would you kindly test it for the next 30 minutes with a selection of whatever videos etc caused problems before and I will come back at 2230
Could you confirm if
Now click the power management tab on that window and if allow computer to turn of power is checked uncheck it.
and exit out of that

Now go back to the original window as per my screenshot and select the TCP/IPv4 and click the properties button
confirm that obtain IP address and DNS server are both checked for automatically
those settings were as mentioned or was power management checked to allow - power to be turned off


As I mentioned sorry I was late to the party
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
I can confirm that obtain IP address and DNS server are both checked for automatically, but when I go to Power Management, this screen shot displays what I'm getting

Power Management.png
 
Last edited:

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
I'm noticing that while I haven't had a lot of issues with Firefox, I'm finding that on Internet Explorer, the "you're not connected to a network" message is coming up frequently. I have to make multiple attempts to get the Internet Explorer browser go to Google.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
Well you should not use IE anyway as it is an outdated browser and no longer supported
In fact I am surprised that you have not received such comments from many websites#

Are there any options other than the three shown in power saver options
If NOT uncheck energy efficient internet and click OK to exit.
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
I use Firefox for most of my conventional computer activities. However, IE is an integral part of the Windows 7 programs and cannot be removed from the computer.

I have unchecked energy efficient ethernet.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,842
I know it cannot be removed
With respect I never suggested you could or should
You should NOT however use it it is out of date - poor security and unsupported
Use with Firefox although I do not like it or use the Microsoft EDGE version for 7
Download Microsoft Edge Web Browser | Microsoft

you can copy all your settings favourites etc to Edge


Try this please
Intel® Network Adapter Driver for Windows 7* - Final Release

download the windows 7 64 bit.
Save it to your desktop
right click click run as admin and see if it will install
 

kenneth7379

Ken
Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
309
I seem to be having trouble installing it. Is there a procedure for uninstalling the previous version?

NETWORK ADAPTOR.png
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top