how can I terminate a program from command script?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hemlock

I need to terminate a program running under Windows 2000 Professional in a cmd script, prior to shutting down the system in the event of a power outage. Since the powe outage may come when the system is unattended, I need to write a script to cause the program to exit.

Is there a way to do this in Windows 2000? Or a utility that will perform this function?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Is the Computer going to shut down properly? Do you have a UPS? How would the script be called? Group Policy Machine shutdown script?
I know it can be done in VB. I bet it can be done in VBS. The VB code I have allows me to close any running program if I know the Window Title. I am new to programming. I know even less VBS than that. I do know you cannot close a program using the command prompt. You can force all programs to close and shut down windows. At least you can in Win9x. But the programs are not closed properly that way.

hemlock

Is the Computer going to shut down properly? Do you have a UPS? How would the script be called? Group Policy Machine shutdown script?